You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Learning Foraging Tips from wild animals

in #foraging7 years ago

I’ve heard that animals, particularly deer and dogs, can feel an earth quake coming. Sometimes days before humans feel it.
I have a way laid back, chill kind of dog. But sometimes, even if she doesn’t start barking like crazy, her posture will suddenly change, and I get freaked out. She’s alerted me to snakes, people, and deer in that way many times.
I’ve become very interested in weather over the past few years. Here in south west MO, the weather is schizophrenic entity that forecasters nearly never get right. Growing up here, it’s just a thang. You learn to adapt to the weather as it changes, and to never make solid plans that count on the weather. But in 2011, our house was missed by an EF5 tornado by just a few blocks. Since then, I’ve been exploring more traditional, maybe unorthodox by today’s standards, ways of reading the coming weather. (I’m not very good at it yet.) I had never thought to pay attention to my Abby to see how’s she’s feeling about it. Thanks for that tip. I’ll be watching for her to react to the weather and see what I can learn from her!

Sort:  

It is very good to pay attention to them. Many people pass it off as animals just being animals, but there has been too many things I have personally experienced to shrug it off as nonsense. One of our dogs is afraid of any loud noise so he always gets upsets when storms happen. But the other two are very laid back about it. On two different occasions, the two little ones became very upset about a storm, so we went to the basement to ride it out. One of them, a tornado tore through the city that is about 4 miles from us, jumped back up and was coming down as it passed over our house. It took part of our roof and you could see a path through the trees where it cut through. The other storm had a tornado that was sighted my many people but it stayed mostly up high and did not do a lot of damage. But the dogs knew something was happening.

How scary! I’m so glad you were all okay! Just another reason everyone should have a dog or two. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63569.77
ETH 3424.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50