You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fermenting Wild Greens

in #foraging7 years ago

For whatever reason, I am intimidated by the idea of fermenting food at home. But I think I might give it a go this summer. This seems like a simple enough way to start. Thanks for the how to!

Sort:  

Oh I'm not the only one @powellx5.. I am too!

Don't be intimidated. Fermenting veggies is much easier than canning meats and veggies that did not go through a fermenting process. With canning, it can APPEAR to have worked perfectly and killed every pathogen in the jar, but one tiny little bit of air can allow that one stray bacteria to multiple over time.

With fermenting, the process does not allow bad bacteria to grow and the good bacteria multiply to completely kill out the bad bacteria. Plus, you can see the process working and literally watch it bubbling away (without heat).

A quick and easy way to try it. But one of those packages of cole slaw mix. You can use the ones that are all cabbage or the ones with some carrots mixed in. Lightly salt it down using the process I described above, then pack it in to a couple of mason jars or an old gallon sized pickle jar. Just make sure everything gets pushed under the liquid and you will be able to see it bubbling. At times it might look almost like it is boiling, but there is no heat. After the bubbling stops, pull a little from below the water and taste it. If you like the taste you can stop, re-bottle and seal them. If the taste isn't strong enough for you, push it back under the water and wait a few more days. It is almost impossible to mess it up.

I am usually online every day and I try to respond same day or at the latest next day, so never be afraid to ask questions. I will gladly help you learn.

Excellent! I'll give ot try in the next week or two and get back to. THANK YOU!

yes, please let me know how it turns out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66740.62
ETH 3336.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72