You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: PINKIE-PEPPER'S WILD PLANTS - EPISODE #1: MULLEIN & WILD CHIVES

in #foraging7 years ago

Nice work in knowing two great plants, @little-peppers! Do you ever dig up the chives and use the little bulbs growing underground? Here's one way I have used the little chive bulbs, with their green stems - and dandelions, too. Backpacking Ramen Noodles with Weeds.

Do your chives last all through the summer? Where I live, in Oregon, the chives are out from the fall, through the winter, and through spring. But they lose their leaves and disappear during our summer. So that's why I freeze and dry them - so I can have them all year long. And so I can use them to cook dinner when I go backpacking.

I'm happy you are starting this series. It's exciting to think of what plants you will show us next. Happy foraging!

Sort:  

We saw them, and used them, year round this last year.

That's great! It's nice to have tasty wild plants that are around all year long.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58522.98
ETH 3089.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41