You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can you grow beans from Dried Grocery Store beans?

in #foraging7 years ago

When I first started gardening I had heard people talk about success with this... BUT only if you use organic seeds from the produce dept. Well, I attempted it.. No luck.

I stick with buying heirloom seeds... maybe I wasn't experienced enough at the time but... curious who else has had success and can share pics of it.

Sort:  

I don't have any pics, because I never thought about ever blogging on the subject. But I have grown from grocery store. I will admit however, that most of what I have now in my seed stock, is seed of what I have grown over and over for the past 40 some odd years.

Things have changed a lot but I still think it is viable from at least some of the store bought ones. If they have not been irradiated. When we were infected with pantry moths, I had to throw out several hundred pounds of beans. This was when I learned to make sure containers were hard plastic and air tight.

But as I was dumping them in the garbage can outside, many of them fell to the ground. It was raining and I was trying to hurry so I did not pick them up. Several days later many of them had sprouted. Almost all of the beans I had at that time were grocery store variety, specifically Sams Club brands because of how cheap they were.

I would be interested to hear other peoples experiences. Plus I think I will grab a bag or two from my local Kroger and do a test run, take photos and all of that. Perhaps others could do it with brands from their area and we could see if some brands work better than others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64647.65
ETH 3473.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50