Eating spruce fresh and delicious!

in #foraging7 years ago

spruce-3034005_1280.jpg
Believe it or not but spruce tops are edible. You can even eat them raw, they taste very fresh and acidic! When I walk through the forest I like to recognize edible plants and spruce or pine is one of the easiest to find in my area. On the picture you see a spruce but in Poland it's still a bit early in the season. The green fresh tops are now still brown bulbs. The brown bulbs you can see at the end of every branch.

How to recognize spruce

Spruce is a tree with single needles. Every needles is attached separately to the branch. When you pick a needle they are often a bit square and tend to roll easily between your fingers. A very good guide to identify different conifers is here.

Uses for spruce tops

spruce is used allot because the tops have a fresh taste what reminds you of lemon. It can be used in tea, salades and even to make sirup! I made a list of common uses for you to try;

  • Raw as a mouth refreshner. Don't eat more than 2 at the same time because the taste is quite strong.
  • In tea, crush the green fresh needles a bit and boil it in water for 5 minutes.
  • In ice tea were you replace the lemon with needles.
  • Mix sugar water with crushed needles and put this on the heating for a day or 2. It helps against throat pain.
  • You can add it when your brewing beer. It gives the beer a more fruity fresh taste.

GoGreenBuddy_Logo update.png

Sort:  

It's definitely better than chewing gum! I will continue my natural paint series later I need some inspiration to write it!

Voohoo you are an inspiration for us.

I did not know you could eat spruce. We have a few here on our farm. I will give it a try. Thanks for the info

It's even tasty most in nature doesn't taste great but this does.

@gogreenbuddy just awesome one. you done it properly. thanks for this information. carry on buddy.

I believe it spruce tops are edible. because you describe it so well. great information for us. thank you.

spruce tops are edible !!! Really amazing.....@gogreenbuddy...
Thanks for giving us an effective information about spruce tree....

Happy to keep writing! We all gotta share our knowledge.

A comparatively good. You are giving a lot of good post gifts.
thanks

Totally new experience.I did not eat spruce, so I do not know how its taste is .It seems that it is not available in Bangladesh . I do not know its name even if found. thanks @gogreenbuddy To find a natural food and introduce it.

its amazing. spruce tree with single needles its look very beautiful. you recognize it very good. its very important for our nature & also make our house as very well.

really!! that's good. still i don't know about it. first time i know that. thanks @gogreenbuddy. keep it up.

I don't think this grows in india but still I will check. This is really good.

I'm afraid your right. But India is gigantic I'm sure there is some tree with needles that is edible :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70