Had to stop and smell the yarrow this morning

in #foraging7 years ago

IMG_1388.JPG
Stopped and picked a little Yarrow this morning . I always try to keep a little dried Yarrow in my first aid kit. It works great to help stop a bleeding cut. Also a great tea for colds and lung congestion . IMG_1384.JPG
Yarrow is pretty easy to identify with its white little flowers and fern leaf. There is also domesticated Yarrow in various colors. But the eucalyptus like smell is the best way to make sure you have the right plant. The scientific name is Achellia Millefoleum and it has been used for millennia for food, medicine and magic by cultures all over the world.
Pictures are original. Thanks for viewing!

Sort:  

Cool! I want to continue learning how to identify wild plants. I believe I have seen that here in Dallas, TX, or else something very similar. I have never tasted yarrow tea and I really didn't know about its medicinal benefits, so thanks for sharing that information. I'll have to keep my eyes peeled, and next time I'll check for the eucalyptus-like scent!

Yes it does grow in Texas. It is also known as nose and bleed devils nettle to some and I believe in the south west it has a Spanish nick name too.

I keep a supply of dried yarrow around for medicine making too. It's really a phenomenal plant, isn't it?

Yes it is . I recently cut my finger it was bleeding pretty good and when I went to my first aid kit in my pickup I realized I was out. I have used it for cuts in the past and it is amazing how it stops the bleeding when applied . Anyway restocking my supply

I like the young yarrow leaves in salads! It gets bitter with cooking, though. So it's better in salads or with fruit! It's a great little plant!

I will have to give that a try. Thank you!

If you do, I'd really like to know how you like what you make! :D

It looks like you got a good harvest! Will you dry your yarrow?

Yes I hang the bundle upside down to dry. then I will strip the leave and flowers storing them in a glass jar. I also put a small bag in each first aid kit.

andre, I wish to thank you personally for voting for me this past year. Steem was very fun in the beginning, when most people recognized each other. And now it is a little easier to get followers. The middle time had my best unrewarded work, however.

Up-voted you to show my gratitude. But nice stuff you got. My great grandpa was a forest ranger, loved the outdoors.

Thanks will continue to follow @treeleaves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43