Foraging Purslane Out of the Garden

in #foraging6 years ago

CD161BE3-2AF1-4A61-B704-9A5FC36CB8B7.jpeg
Purslane grows through out my garden. I wrote a little about this weed when I first started here on Steemit.
It is loaded with good stuff, vitamin E, vitamin c, beta carotene, omega -3s and more.
Purslane is a succulent and I have not had much luck with preserving it. I like to use it in salads and it makes a nice pesto.
7428DA61-F821-4F18-BACD-89CBBE024CD6.jpeg
Here is a recent salad I made where I incorporated purslane. The purslane has a nice Lemmony flavor that goes well with a bitter such as dandelion greens. In this salad I used dandelion leaves , beet leaves, yellow dock leaves, lettuce, garlic and onion, then topped it with homemade sauerkraut. 3115B711-C85F-48CE-8B89-2E889A24547C.jpeg
Another way I like to prepare it is in a pesto. Here I made a pesto with the bulbs from my garlic scapes, beet greens, a little salt, a little vinegar, and a little pepper. This seemed to keep really well. It lasted for a good week in the fridge. The vinegar and garlic flavors mix well with the purslane.
Finding ways to incorporate this lovely little weed into your diet should pay off well in health and flavor.
Let me know how you use it.

Sort:  

The more I learn about plants and nature the more I realize how many 'hidden gem' plants are out there we deem as weeds but can actually eat and considered medicine and super food even. I blame global suppression for our 'ignorance' regarding these. But a times are a changing and the future looks bright ;) Cheer$;)

Yes chemical companies make big money selling herbicides to kill plants that are healthier than the crop they are spraying to protect.
But spreading the word helps empower us.

I never, ever imagined that these plants were edible, but, reading your post, I remembered that many times I feed just that to my turtles, and they love it, it's funny that I never thought it was edible.

Yes edible and quite healthy. Thanks for the resteem!

friend, I like your post very much, since I was a child I feel a very special affection for life in the countryside, doing it is a pleasure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11