You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who is the best fit as Spurs' next manager?

in #football5 years ago

Levy just sacked their best coach in years. Redknapp is the only one that came close.

I think his case is similar to Klopp last season with Dortmund. He's a very good coach who could have won somethings for them assuming Levy released the funds.

€324m on transfers since 2014 and that's on 22 players. When you compare it to Klopp €442m on 13 players since 2015...you know the problem is from the head(Levy).

I don't know if he's still earning £6m as chief executive of the club but I feel that should be reduced. He's earning around twice what other premier league executives are earning. He should divert the funds to improve player wages.


Jose Mourinho will be a big win for Spurs and can be their doom too. He will surely turn their season around but what about the future. When he asks Levy to release €150m for transfer, I doubt if he's going to release such amount.

Mou will definitely want to win something for them too. He will focus on maybe the FA and win (lol), so the press won't have anything to say on his barrenness.


Any other manager apart from Mourinho will only meet (maybe) Pochettino height and never surpass it as long as Levy is still there.

Sort:  

I agree it's a big shame to lose Poch, he's done a lot for the club and I think he could have achieved more with the backing of Levy. At the end of the day though, a manager is just an employee of the club. If you are at odds over the direction and vision of a company (and clubs are just companies) then expect to be sacked. It's the same as would happen to you and I in our jobs.

While there are a lot of toxic factors at Spurs at the moment, I think that Poch's attitude wasn't helping the situation. I'm sure that Jose was on the radar of Arsenal and maybe even Bayern and Real Madrid so Levy took the opportunity to act first.

A contract until 2023! That's much longer than I thought Jose would get and I'd be surprised if he stays at Spurs that long. We'll see how it works out for him. I actually think he's got fewer "big personalities" to deal with in the Spurs dressing room than he did at either Chelsea or United but we'll see how players like Alli and Eriksen who have both been underperforming for some time respond to him. He must have had some assurances over transfer funds or he wouldn't have taken the job. At the very least it makes me a little more interested to watch Spurs because they have been truly awful this season and I've found myself not bothering to watch some of their matches!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57028.16
ETH 2358.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40