Inexplicable football #1

in #football7 years ago

Hello football fans,

Although football may seem pretty straight forward sometimes, often I find that I'm in the twilight zone when thinking a bit more about it.

This is a series I want to write in which I present the weirdness of football (for me), facts that I don't have an explanation for, hoping to find one, from you.

  • How can one team win the league in one season (or finish top 3) and then barely avoid relegation in the next one, without selling many players or going bankrupt?!

I'm not going to give Leicester as an example, because, I think, they were never really in any relegation danger last season. Of course, they were also not close to win the epl again, but they played okay in some games.

I'm thinking more about cases like West Ham in 2003. That team had Joe Cole ( I loved that player), Defoe, Carrick, Glen Johnson or Di Canio. Or 2004 Leeds that had Alan Smith, Paul Robinson, Mark Viduka, James Milner or Ian Harte. Or 2009 Newcastle that had Michael Owen, Obafemi Martins and Damien Duff. This doesn't happen only in EPL. Italy has Hellas Verona in 2002. They had even bigger players, if I think about it: Massimo Oddo, Mauro Camoranesi and Alberto Gilardino, and Adrian Mutu.

This was the part where I presented.

I would now love to hear some theories about such cases.

Why do they happen? I do have some ideas, but I think hazard (not the player) has something to do with it. - what can go wrong, will go wrong.

Please let me know your opinion, and if you liked this post, so that I can continue this mini series.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60320.14
ETH 3373.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51