The Lewis Review! THE MIGHTY WATFORD vs Brighton and Hove Albion

in #football7 years ago (edited)

Where the fuck have you been? I've grown a full on beard since you last posted one of these!

Soz Loz; I'm living in Thailand at the moment so it's not as if I can pop down to Vicarage Road every week. I have to wait for a match to be on TV. The last two matches (Bournemouth and Bristol City, let's not talk the Bristol one...) weren't on TV.

14990906_1345577708810099_4187666296347810049_o.jpg
Me and Triple M. Find out more about him through my Europe trip: https://steemit.com/italy/@lewisjfclarke/europe-trip-stop-7-8-nice-and-diano-marina-hi-triple-m

Oh right, so this feather plucker was on TV then?

Not exactly. For some reason West Ham have been on TV every week (even though they are bottom of the league!). But I still wanted to review this match so even though the match happened yesterday I thought I'd wait until the highlights came out, then couple that with the match facts on BBC sport and go from there. Not the most authentic review but its better than nothing...

Watford line up

Watford whacked out the 4-3-3 again, it been doing us well so far so we might as well destroy Brighton with it as well...

Gomes (GK) Fermenia (RB) Prodl (CB) Kabasele (CB) Britos (LB) Doucoure (CM) Cleverley (CM) Chalobah (CM) Amrabat (LW) Gray (ST) Richarlison (RW)

Brighton team news

I don't know much about the Brighton team to be honest. I just know that they are dangerous when they switch it on. However I do know that Knockaert starts. Knockaert of course was the Leicester player who took a dive in the 95th minute in the penalty area for Leicester, and what happened next was possibly our most famous moment ever. Here's a video for you casuals:

Anyway. Andiamo! (that's Itailan for 'let's get cracking!')

Well, like I said I only got to see the highlights, and the only highlight worth talking about in detail was Britos' red card. Talk about a fucking horrendous challenge. That was a proper Sunday League Leg-breaker! Needless to say the game was pretty much over for us at that point and we went into survival mode. Brighton hit the post twice but we managed to get to half time at 0-0

Half time, THE MIGHTY WATFORD (minus Britos) 0-0 Brighton

The second half was more of the same; Watford scrappily defending and Brighton trying to break us down. I would say we were resolute but judging by the highlights Gomes didn't actually have that much to do apart from look bald. There was one point where Doucoure thought it would be a good idea to kick someone in the head inside the penalty box. The resulting indirect free didn't lead to a goal though much to my relief, and the ball went blazing wide.

  • EDIT: There was a highlight video here, but it got taken down by Youtube. So enjoy random words from Lewis instead...

THE LEWIS PICK

(THE LEWIS PICK is my man of the match out of all the Watford players)

AMRABAT

Well I wasn't going to pick Britos, was I?!? It wasn't the prettiest performance we've ever had, but before Amrabat was sacrificed (Not to the Gods, don't worry, he'll be available for selection next week...) he was pretty lively on the left. So THE LEWIS PICK has to go to him.

THE LEWIS PICK's this season

AMRABAT - 1
HOLEBAS - 1

Final score: THE MIGHTY WATFORD 0-0 Brighton

Sort:  

That was a shocking tackle. It deserved more than a single red card. You sure it's Britos rather than Brutus?

Actually, that's not a bad shout! Even as a Watford fan I hope he gets a ban. Garth Crooks even said "...And he has the audacity to complain (about the red card)?" which shocked me even more when I found out he (Britos) thought the red card was unfair.

I've seen leg breaking challenges by players like Shawcross and Martin Taylor, and if anything they just looked late and reckless. This challenge by Britos looked like a leg breaker by the way he tried to kick his leg in mid air. Knockaert is very lucky he is able to walk right now. There is no place for that in any sport. I hope Britos apologises...

Hi, as a sign of my support for the tag #sports and #football, I vote for you and begin to follow you

I used to live in Italy. Did you know the word for bread in Italian is pane (pronounced pan-ee)? Also pani actually means 'water' in Hindi. However the word for water in Thai is in fact 'nam', and finally nam rhymes with SPAM

And that's the six degrees of Kevin Bacon...

Masterful lol! 😎👊

Partly you are right.

To be fair.. you did get a vote and a new friend. No need to be a dick Lewis LOL!

You right I follow you you follow me we do well together on steemit...

Congratulations @lewisjfclarke! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I was hoping this reward was going to be for 'Most legendary reply ever!' after how I dealt with a spammer. But having a load of upvotes isn't a bad second prize...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68405.60
ETH 2641.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69