Playing my part in community development

in #football6 years ago

Growing up in a community where there hasn't been a lot or no community development over the years I have always thought that if I ever get in a position where I could play my part I would not hesitate. One of the biggest problems is the community members themselves, in that, they are very reluctant to make the commitment and put in the work in order to build a better community. 

Throughout history and tribe, community, nation of people grew in terms of infrastructure, independence, culture, economically were all done as a collective effort in order to become a better people. Everyone played a part and contributed in whatever way they had to for them to achieve their target. This is how I want my fellow community members to act, everyone playing their part for a better and a more prosperous community where we all can be happy and comfortable.

#How I play my part in community development 

1). Last year i co-founded a youth sports club in my community in order to get more youths from the community who are not exactly friends or acquaintances to get involved in community development. This venture built friendships, relationships which was a big positive as it gave these youths a reason to interact with each other. We construct our vision and mission statement which emphasizes community development. On our own initiative we began to take on different projects we saw as important where we could make a difference and uplift each other and others in and around our community. One such project was our tutoring program for which at the time focused mainly on youths who were about to sit external exams and need extra help or a place where they could go to study and prepare themselves.   

2). Sports plays a major role in most communities in my country mine is no exception. Currently in my community of Lionel Town we have our annual Corner League football competition which see a huge boost of visitors coming into the community to watch and enjoy good football and all the excitement which comes with it.  There are 10 teams in the competition where each team plays each other once and the top 4 teams plays in the semi-finals and the winners of those semis play each other in the final. I formed my own team as my friends and I have been wanting to enter the competition for some time and we finally got our opportunity this season. We are currently 5th having played 4 matches, winning 2 and losing 2. This competition is another good form of community development as each team is allowed to register 5 out-of-town players. The idea with this is that each of these players will bring people with them who will come to support them and the team they play for. In addition to the community members these people from other communities would boost the competition and broadcast it elsewhere.  Even though I have sometimes been reluctant to take up leadership roles it always seems to somehow find me. Of late I have taken up this role in which i have had some success but I am willing to do so much more to better uplift my community in the most positive way there is. 

![28275806_10215883202019521_342051006_o.jpg]()

Thank you for reading my post, please upvote, comment, resteem.

Sort:  

Bro I would love to coe watch your team playing sometime.

we have match this saturday

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69672.37
ETH 3356.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74