HENDERSON: I REFUSED TO LEAVE LIVERPOOL

in #football6 years ago

download (18).jpg

Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson says he refused to leave Anfield during Brendan Rodgers' spell in charge of the club.

Speaking ahead of the Champions League final against Real Madrid in Kiev on May 26, Henderson revealed how he shed tears when he was told he would be allowed to leave Liverpool in a swap deal for then-Fulham forward Clint Dempsey in the summer of 2012.

He told the Daily Mail: "Brendan [Rodgers] called me in and said 'listen, this is the offer' and he asked me what I thought.

"It implied to me that he would let me leave and it was up to me. I went back to my room. I shed a few tears. I ended up crying a little bit because it hurt so much. I had the game that night to think about it as well.

"I spoke to my agent and told him what had happened and I said I didn't want to go. I wanted to stay and fight and try and improve and try to prove the manager wrong. My agent agreed. I spoke to my dad. He was gutted but he backed my decision to stay and fight."

Sort:  

Yes he we stay and fight for is place..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65725.20
ETH 3370.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63