MY WORLD CUP QUEST: A COUNTRY FOUNDED ON BOOZE

in #football6 years ago (edited)

12/32 WORLD CUP TEAMS COMPLETED

PLATO'S ALCOHOLIC IDEALS

Day 5 of the World Cup brought me to the wonderfully named Beer Republic in Chid Lom. The ideals of this republic seem clear enough; serve as much Belgian beer as possible. Plato was fond of the odd drink and would surely approve of such a noble republic. He enthused that "nothing more excellent or valuable than wine was ever granted by the gods to man."

The people voted with their feet. The place was packed with Belgians. This newly opened bar was plastered in flags from around the globe. I was impossible to get a seat long before kick off. Every Belgian or Panamanian contact I'd made this week suggested that I go to this venue. So I did. This was one of the more typical pub experiences that you can find in Europe on big football days. There were big groups singing and chanting. There were families with kids out past their bedtime. There was free snacks (cheese fires). Everyone was getting in each others way while also being courteous enough to not let it spoil the mood. The TV speakers reverberated. The huge projected screen was watched by hundreds of upward tilted heads, like a mob of meerkats.

In one corner of this establishment stood a rare sight in the Bangkok jungle. A rowdy crowd of Panamanians were singing, chanting and playing drums. Even the meerkats peered over from time to time at the ruckus.

Belgium ran out clear winners in the end. Panama are probably one of the few countries at the World Cup for which just taking part is what counts. Another small country has broken into the top tier of world football by qualifying for their first World Cup. Welcome to the party.

QUEST UPDATE

I'm now over one third of the way through my self-imposed challenge. There have been some ups and downs. I've had some near misses and I've bagged some long shots. I've had a whole host of experiences that can be verbalised in trite football cliches. At the end of the day.

1 Brazil COMPLETED
2 Nigeria
3 Russia
4 Japan COMPLETED
5 Mexico COMPLETED
6 Egypt COMPLETED
7 Iran COMPLETED
8 Germany (The board game tycoon)
9 France COMPLETED
10 England (The multitude of friends)
11 South Korea (The Salesman)
12 Spain
13 Colombia
14 Argentina COMPLETED
15 Poland COMPLETED
16 Morocco COMPLETED
17 Peru COMPLETED
18 Saudi Arabia COMPLETED
19 Australia COMPLETED
20 Senegal (Possible Instagram woman)
21 Belgium COMPLETED
22 Tunisia
23 Portugal COMPLETED
24 Sweden (The bar suggested by the embassy)
25 Switzerland COMPLETED
26 Serbia (The internet stranger)
27 Denmark COMPLETED
28 Costa Rica COMPLETED
29 Croatia
30 Panama COMPLETED
31 Uruguay
32 Iceland (The film producer)

I found some last minute Peruvians in a restaurant and sweary Argentinians piled into a hostel all on the same day. I also had a chance meeting with a real football man from Portugal who works with Bangkok Glass in the Thai Premier League. All the sweaty serendipitous details to come.

NEXT MOVE

My current targets based on population size and probability of exiting the tournament are Tunisia and Senegal. These two countries are crucial to the challenge. I've got a mere 6 days until the group stages are over. I'll sleep when I'm done fulfilling... My World Cup Quest.

*Join me in my quest. It started here https://steemit.com/sport/@highselfesteem/i-m-going-to-watch-the-world-cup-with-a-fan-from-every-country-in-bangkok-or-sleep-trying and will continue for the duration of the World Cup.

*Other words, pictures and sounds at my website http://www.thisthailife.com/

*Twitter @ThisThaiLife

*Facebook https://www.facebook.com/thisthailife/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75