Michael Owen's New Autobiography will Not Make Him A Popular Man in Newcastle

in #football5 years ago

Screenshot 20190903 at 20.32.29.png
src
Michael Owen is not the most liked individual in the world. Owen rocketed to stardom after that goal against Argentina at just 17 years old. He had the world at his feet but injuries blighted his career and in the end he became a journeyman. His biggest mistake was joining United which meant his most loyal fanbase Liverpool had to turn their back on their starlet. Newcastle fans don't like him because he bearly played and cost the clubs millions in wages. Utd fans don't like him because he is a true red. Liverpool don't like him because he went off and played for the arch rivals Man Utd. Neutrals don't like him because he's his commentating leaves much to be desired. Extracts from his new book are starting to surface in the Daily Mirror . Owen has said he has kept his council for long enough and it is now time to tell his side of the story.
In my opinion this is going to stir more resentment from all quarters. I have a feeling this will go down as well as Ashley Cole's autobiography.

Below is one of the extracts from his new book which caused quite a stir today in the UK.

The day after signing, the club flew me up to be greeted by twenty thousand delighted fans at St. James’ Park. Instantly, I felt like a hero...
The fans never knew anything about any of the behind-the-scenes goings on which occurred during my time there but my relationship with them was damaged beyond repair when I was knocked out against Watford .
When I got home, I switched on Match Of The Day to watch the game and I could hear Newcastle fans, my fans, singing ‘what a waste of money!’ as I’m being stretchered off.
I can’t deny their actions that day changed things for me. No longer was I even going to attempt to ingratiate myself with the fans. Instead, I flipped it in a slightly more resentful way thinking, I don’t need to justify myself to f ****** Newcastle fans.

This raised the hairs of Newcastle & England legend Alan Shearer who is AN EX Newcastle manager and top fan.
Screenshot 20190903 at 20.14.58.png

This started a tit for tat with Owen and Shearer live on Twitter. Her is his reply to Shearer.

Screenshot 20190903 at 20.17.38.png

Gary Lineker weighted in with Awkward and Owen replied with this.
Screenshot 20190903 at 20.18.49.png

So Shearer is unpopular amongst ex footballers according to Owen.
This is gold for us football writers.
Let's have a read of another extract.

And I have a long memory. As much as there were some good times to follow at St. James’ Park, my relationship with the fans was irreparably impaired that day at Vicarage Road. The love affair, if you could call it that, was almost over...
Freddy Shepherd came out with the line that he would happily “carry Michael Owen back to Anfield himself”. Being a huge fan of the club also, Freddy was only doing what all the fans constantly do at almost every football club: they believe that their club is ten per cent bigger and that their team is ten per cent better than it actually is.
This kind of blind delusion is especially true of Newcastle United – which, as I reach for the nearest tin hat, is only a big club in the sense that it has a lot of fans and a big stadium.
They’re historically not successful off the pitch, in fact quite the opposite mostly. And they’ve never really won much on it in recent times.

I cannot wait for the day Michael Owen is tasked to do a game in St James Park. They like their football up the north. This is not going to go down well on Tyneside.
I never forget reading an extract from the book of one of Shearer's backroom staff Paul Ferris about his time in Newcastle. This is the kind of guy we are dealing with here. It tells you all you need to know about Michael Owen.

Screenshot 20190903 at 20.21.00.png

That's what 120k a week gives you in a relegation battle. A guy more concerned about his next move than to save the club who has been paying him 120k a week from going down.
I can see this book making many headlines for all the wrong reasons. But it is intriguing none the less. This week s going to be an interesting week with more extracts coming over the next few days.

Sort:  

Most players have a spell they don't really like thus far, however I don't think he (Michael Owen) should reiterate his fraustration in this manner. However I think it's gone now need to open old wounds

Yep . Hes rich enough to be able to not produce a tell all book

He was a great kid, but yes I think the ManU episode was unwanted. he was the best in Liverpool, same as Fernando Torres.

The Texts to the group chat i am in from my Geordie mate are nsfw - he is livid!

Ha . Id love to hear them. Id say they are going mad. Hes going after becks today.

I saw him in his stint in Manchester United. He was phenomenal there but I never knew he was from Liverpool so I haven't witnessed the drama.

Nice one keep sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78