20 College Football Changes Since I Was a Kid

in #football7 years ago (edited)

Jumbotron with Harry DAWG.JPG

College football season kicks off tomorrow, and 93,000 people will see this jumbotron at Sanford Stadium in Athens, Georgia, where the University of Georgia will play.

I know the place well, starting with my faculty days there in the Speech Communication department, and continuing decades later after I became a communication consultant. I continued to buy season tickets. Recently I realized I have attended more than 225 games there.

But the game has changed remarkably during those years, and even more since I was a young boy.

COLLEGE FOOTBALL WHEN I WAS A KID
At the start of every collegiate football season, I think back to my childhood days when I first started attending games. Maybe we should call that era Fantasy Island Football-because unless you grew up then, you'll have trouble believing how the scene has changed.

Consider these 20 drastic changes:

--A player rarely ever played for a university outside of his home state. If he did, the school he suited up for was just across the border from his home state.

--It was practically unheard of for a student to use a drug stronger than aspirin.

--The athlete never thought of transferring to another university.

--Students completed their degrees before they left the school.

graduation-995042__340.jpg

--Players had no criminal record, either before or during their athletic career.

-- "Two platoon" football didn't exist. Every player played both offense and defense.

--There were no special teams. Often the quarterback did the kicking--both punting and extra points.

--Fans wore their "Sunday best" to games.

suit-2685226__340.jpg

--Tickets were very reasonably priced, so that people of all economic levels could attend.

--Parking was free, "first come first served."

--Games took far less time, without countless commercial interruptions.

--Before weight rooms and trainers, moderate size guys could make the team.

--Games were usually low scoring. Then 14-7 was an "exciting game." Wow, three touchdowns!

-- Night games were rare, as only a few stadiums had lights.

--Every game was played outdoors, often in extremely challenging weather.

--Players didn't wear gloves. Receivers caught bullet passes barehanded.

--Most of the plays were running plays.

football-888015__340.jpg

--There were just four bowl games: Rose, Cotton, Orange, and Sugar.

-- Placekickers approached the ball straight on, not soccer style.

--Junior colleges were not farm teams for proving you could play for a major college team.

ADD TO MY LIST OF CHANGES IN COLLEGIATE FOOTBALL
Wouldn't surprise me at all if you, too, have noticed vast changes in college football. So I'll welcome your comments--now!

UPVOTE AND RESTEEM
If you found my observations about college football interesting , I'll be very grateful for your Upvote and Resteem.

Thanks for taking your Steemit time to visit with me today!

Except for the cover picture, photos came from Pixabay

Sort:  

@bizcommunication
Nice Info.

Thanks for sharing

Thanks for letting me know you found my football analysis beneficial.

Enjoy your weekend!

Sure! You did well...keep it up and do check my blog posts too

Just followed you so I will see your posts.

Thanks ....visit my blog directly and read my good health tips

good one...thanks dear...wll post soon also...keep steeming

Nice post, I guess college football has changed a lot, upvoted and resteemed

Indeed it has!

Thanks plenty for the Upvote and Resteem!

Congratulations @bizcommunication! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wicked post mate! We are playing the Gators and Wolverines game today check out my last post to get in the game 👍🏼

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78