Neymar: It's sad people think Paris St-Germain move was motivated by money

in #football7 years ago

Neymar: It's sad people think Paris St-Germain move was motivated by money
32 minutes ago From the sectionEuropean Football
Share this page

I wanted a bigger challenge and my heart chose PSG - Neymar
Brazil forward Neymar says it is "sad" that people think his world-record move from Barcelona to Paris St-Germain was motivated by money.

The 25-year-old joined the French club for a fee of 222m euros (£200m) and he will earn 45m euros (£40.7m) a year.

Neymar, who is "ready to play" in PSG's first league match on Saturday, also said his price tag was "not a burden".

PSG chairman Nasser Al Khelaifi added that Neymar could have earned more money at another club.

Live text of Neymar's first news conference
The Ligue 1 club's total outlay on the Brazilian is expected to be £400m.

Asked if he was motivated by money at his official unveiling at the Parc des Princes, Neymar replied: "What I say to these people is they don't know anything about my personal life, I was never motivated by money.

"If I was following the money, I would be somewhere else, with other clubs in other countries. I'm really sad that people still think that way and I'm glad that PSG believe in me."

Al Khelaifi added: "Neymar came here for motivation, a project that he believed in. He can get much more money than we give him, that's for sure".

Analysis: When was the moment Neymar decided to leave?
222m euros for a footballer - how do you feel?
Brazil forward to earn 45m euros a year at PSG
The new Figo?

Former Portugal winger Figo left Barcelona for rivals Real Madrid in 2000, for a then world-record fee of £37.4m, after Madrid paid his buyout clause. The move was greeted with anger by Barcelona fans.

When asked how he felt about being compared to Figo, Neymar said: "I have done nothing bad. I am sad about the fact that the fans think that.IMG_4840.PNG

Sort:  

Congratulations @arbionkopliku! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85