The path of the fool: You have made for yourself other gods, idols made of metal; you have aroused my anger

in #fool2 years ago

In the Bible we often see the practical application of a spiritual teaching: "It is natural for the wise to do the right thing and for fools to do the wrong thing" Ecclesiastes 10:2.
And an example of this truth was the reign of Jeroboam in the Kingdom of Israel, after its separation from the Kingdom of Judah. After Solomon's death, Jeroboam returned to Israel from Egypt, where he was crowned king of Israel at the Shechem assembly. Rehoboam, son of Solomon, instead, remained as king of Judah.
But Jeroboam did not fear God like David and Solomon. Jeroboam was a man with a hard heart who scoffed at spiritual things and gave himself and his kingdom over to idolatry. The fear of God is in the Bible a beatitude and an example of this teaching were the lives of Abraham, Samuel, and Moses. The spiritual gift of fear of the Lord is constancy, firmness, devotion, equanimity, and stability.
Jeroboam did not understand a teaching of the wise men of Israel: "The fear of the LORD is a fountain of life, turning a person from the snares of death" Proverbs 14:27.
It was then during his reign that his son Abijah fell ill, and Jeroboam sent his wife to visit the prophet Ahijah, this prophet was the one who prophesied to Jeroboam that he would be King. And it was so, when Jeroboam's wife met Ahijah, that the prophet prophesied the ruin of his kingdom and his descendants:
"But you have not been like my servant David, who kept my commands and followed me with all his heart, doing only what was right in my eyes. You have done more evil than all who lived before you. You have made for yourself other gods, idols made of metal; you have aroused my anger and turned your back on me.
Because of this, I am going to bring disaster on the house of Jeroboam. I will cut off from Jeroboam every last male in Israel—slave or free. I will burn up the house of Jeroboam as one burns dung, until it is all gone" 1 Kings 14:8-10.
With this story the Bible tries to teach us that we should not follow the path of the fool, because the fool follows the path of his own ruin.
The path of the fool. You have made for yourself other gods, idols made of metal; you have aroused my anger.jpg
For more information visit my profile follow the link and download for free my ebook.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48