How To Prepare Egbo, A Nigerian Meal

in #foodtrail7 years ago (edited)

I cannot stop saying thank you to those who constantly visit my blog with upvotes, I am really grateful to you.
I am happy steemit has given me the opportunity to write about my native food, it's a satisfying experience I must say thank you to the plat form.

Today, I will like to share with you on the preparation of egbo.

I am sure that sounds pretty weird to you,it is not really common even to some Nigerians.
Without wasting much time, I will like to tell you what I know about egbo and the way it is been prepared.

Egbo is simply cooked corn.

Corn is usually removed gently from the cub and washed properly, then added into a boiling water.
The process of the corn to get soft might take a while but it is usually worth the stay.
While it is on heat, you can add a little amount of salt.


image source

To enjoy the egbo well, combine it with beans
Some people add the beans into the corn while on heat, and allow to get soft at the same time.
While some others prefer to prepare it separately.


image source

If you want to prepare the egbo and beans together, you can add your red or groundnut oil, pepper, salt and mix together or you could decide to fry the stew separately for the both methods described above.

How to fry Egbo Stew


image source

Egbo stew is usually fried by grating some amount of fresh pepper and slicing some onions.
To a considerable amount of groundnut oil placed on heat, add your sliced onion and your grated pepper afterwards, you could as well blend some amount of tomatoes.
Allow to fry for a while and then add Maggi and salt to taste

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68