Zucchini Relish

A good friend recently gave me this recipe for zucchini relish. She had been to a potluck and had eaten potato salad with this relish as an ingredient, and was so impressed by the flavor, she asked for the recipe and then shared it with me. One huge zucchini yielded enough grated zucchini for this recipe!

Grate:
10 C. unpeeled zucchini
3 C. onion
2 green peppers
1 red pepper
Mix all together with 5 T. salt and let sit overnight. The next day, drain and squeeze by handfuls into a bowl.

Cook until clear:
2 C. vinegar
3 C. sugar
2 T. cornstarch
1 tsp. turmeric
1 tsp. dry mustard
2 tsp. mustard seed
1 tsp. nutmeg

Add in the zucchini mixture and cook for 20 minutes. Put hot mixture into hot jars with hot lids and sealing rings. Process in hot water bath 15 minutes.

Good in macaroni salad and potato salad, and on hot dogs.

20190911_192235_5.jpg

My big bread bowl was the best choice for mixing up the grated zucchini, onion, green pepper, and red pepper.

20190911_192509_6.jpg

After mixing in the salt and stirring it around, the pile shrank a little.

20190912_115203_8.jpg

The next morning, I drained it with a jelly cloth before squeezing the liquid by hand. It helped a little, but there was still plenty of liquid to squeeze out.

20190912_131435_9.jpg

Eight jelly jars full of relish! There was just enough for those eight jars, so I didn't even end up tasting it. That's weird, I know. I will try it after it has had time to sit in the jars for a couple weeks. That wait may not be necessary, but I know pickles need to set for a few weeks so maybe relish ought to as well.

Note: the recipe claimed it only made 5 cups, but I got 8 cups. I think it depends on how one grates it. I used a saladizer, which doesn't grate as finely as the standard hand-held grater.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78