Food Photography: Blueberry Lemon Curd Cake

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

This is a blueberry lemon curd cake with an ombre butter cream icing. The filling between the layers is a home-made lemon curd. The cake is decorated with a crushed rose petal sugar, sugared fresh blueberries and a few dried rose petals. It took me THREE hours to make this cake and honestly, I could have just eaten a jar of the lemon curd because that is like eating sunshine in a jar!

I have discovered one of the big challenges with food photography (especially with cakes) is that everyone is impatiently waiting for you to hurry up with your work so they can eat the subject that you are shooting. It sure adds a lot of pressure.

IMG_3091.jpg

IMG_3073.jpg

IMG_3050.jpg


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca | Facebook

Photo copyright: @walkerland

big_golden.png

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 18:26:46
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 560.93/800.00
Total Photos: 40
Total comments: 11
Total contest wins: 8
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

yum! I’ve been enjoying lemon Noosa yogurt. This must be a ton better!

That yogurt sounds delicious!

The texture is the best part. So smooth and delicious, not like the thick and clumpy greek yogurt.

I gave up eating wheat a while ago so I can only ever look longingly at cakes and pastries. And am looking longingly at this one... Drool -Aimee

ooh. I know what that is like! We are going to be doing another fast soon and I I'll try and avoid websites like pinterest that torture me.

That looks super scrumdiddlyumptious...

You've just introduced me to a new word and I love it! "scrumdiddlyumptious"!

This looks so good, I am surprised that it lasted until you got the photos! Lemon curd is so yummy! I am hoping to have enough lemons on my little trees to make some this year.

I wish we could grow lemons here. I've been wondering about potting them in containers so I can bring them inside for the winter. It cost me $1.30 Canadian per lemon (organic). Ouch!

Depends on how far north you are and what kind of lemons you want to grow. I knew of a family when I lived in Ontario who had a lemon tree in their living room. It did produce fruit, just not many.

That's pretty cool! I am going to add this to my massive list of new ideas I gathered from steemit list!

This looks amazing. Mmmm I love lemon! And I don't blame everyone for being impatient in this case, because you were keeping them from cake and wine! Haha!!

haha! True. IT is quite mean to keep a person from their wine. Only problem with baking a cake like this is that the "us" was just my husband and I. We didn't have anyone for Easter this year. I miss the full table!! There's half a cake left and neither of us have any interest in it anymore.

That's when you need an office full of people to foist it off on 😂 Can you freeze it? I'm slowly discovering that not all baked goods freeze equally.

haha ...I used to do that ALL the time! I was a notorious about cleaning the house out of sweets after every holiday and stacking them in the coffee room. A whole pile of computer geeky bachelors - they never complained but it was not very healthy. Yeah, this cake did not seem very freezer friendly with that fresh curd.

Congratulations!

This food post has been selected and featured in Qurator's Tasty Tuesday competition! Please follow this link and comment with your food picture to officially enter and stand a chance to win a Tier 5 Qurator membership!

Good Luck!

Like what we do? Consider voting for us as a steemit witness.


You have my vote, the cake looks divine!

Thank you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56