UNDY'S GARDEN (so far) ๐Ÿ˜Ž

in #foodphotography โ€ข 6 years ago

This is not just my garden, it is shared with my parents. But I do a lot of the "heavy lifting" in fact, and in the abstract sense. Bought and laid out the gardens beds that are made of stacked cinder blocks. That was about 6 or 7 years ago when I moved back to be closer to "the Old Ones", which was a good move. It was almost exactly one year before Dad had his heart attack. The good news is that he caught it, went in and they did the blood work. So I was glad to be close when that went down...

Originally, I made 6 of these 4'x4' raised beds, bought bagged soil and a pickup truck bed full of topsoil. It really worked well, and we've done something in these beds every year since. It is now 4 raised beds, in an "L" shape (sorry for the Glare! lol)

P_20180613_184110.jpg

My old Mum had a kid from their church help make the other 2 beds into taller ones, and it's not quite as well built as my original 6 beds were. The bottom layer is about 1/2 way sunk into the earth, so the extra height is nice to have. The plants are right up there and weeding is a lot easier by hand! It's loosely based on the book "Square Foot Gardening" and my original idea was so the old gal could ride up to these in her scooter and do some gardening. A few years back she was looking at knee replacements, but I made a "Woo-Woo" science fiction healing ray device called a Scalar Wave Generator, and between using that and her knee cartilage injections, she gets around better than she has in years. Someone is doing something in these gardens almost every day. Mr. FOX keep watch over the tomatoes and the pearl onions...

P_20180613_210540.jpg

These onions were on clearance in the Produce Section, they were sprouting and I thought for 25ยข I could not go wrong! Guess What? Nearly ALL of them are growing, here's photographic proof! ๐Ÿ˜Ž

P_20180613_210458.jpg

The types I planted are pictured here:

P_20180613_210451.jpg

Boiler onions, red, white, and yellow pearls also. Since I had so many bulbs, the remainder went in the corner:

P_20180613_210502.jpg

The fence section was from a prior year, I drove some fence posts this season and put it up on them for a crop of Pole Beans. This was at Dad's suggestion, the only thing I did not know was that the beans were from a season or two prior, and a lot of them did not come up. But the north side of that fence has good coverage, many plants are growing now. It will be more than enough for that section! A mole swooped through and ate all the seeds on the south side, I'm glad he saved some for us! LOL (same pic, see fence in the upper right)

P_20180613_184101.jpg

We have squash, lettuce, zucchini, beans, tomatoes and onions. The radishes are done for this year, but I don't really care for those that much anyway. Just a few slices in a salad. Here's the bed with squash, tomatoes and lettuce:

P_20180613_184047.jpg

Here is the zucchini and the radishes were behind that. Looks like room for the zucchini to spread some, that is good. ;)

P_20180613_184101.jpg

I have some jalapeรฑos in a pot, and there is a patch by the garage for bush beans. Plus a little section for collard greens by the house, where it will get some shade. Mom said they need about 1/2 the day in the shade so that will work out well. I like those much better than spinach, but even that is good with balsamic or malt vinegar on it. No pics of these, and I had a better shot of the pole beans, but for some reason Steemit does not like that file. Maybe I will edit that in later?

THANKS FOR READING, AND AS ALWAYS THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

...........................................................................

Join the new @MBC-MEPS bot at Discord!

MBC DISCORD!



GET FREE COINS! and GET MORE FREEBIES!

Sort: ย 

We are growing the same things except for the radishes. I do not care for those either.
The plants are looking great by the way. I had to replant some zucchini's as a few of mine did not survive being transplanted. Wishing for warmer weather here. Oh well.
Good job, I know its a lot of work gardening and I am saying that with only being in my 2nd year of it and knowing very little. I know there is a lot more to it than I know about.

Cool Stuff, Foxy! I think I saw in one of your replies or posts... NORTHERN Ontario?

๐Ÿ˜จ ๐Ÿ˜ฉ ๐Ÿคฏ ๐Ÿ˜ฌ ๐Ÿ˜ฐ ๐Ÿ˜ฑ WOW, how do you do it? LOL

It's got to be gad-awful COLD anywhere in Canada, let alone northern anything up there!

Well it is warmer in Alberta and British Columbia buuuut I don't live there lol.

It can get pretty cold, can hit-50 celcius in the winter. There are colder places too. This here is my limit. We heat with wood stoves but it is getting more common for people to use propane as a heating source. We make sure our houses are well insulated and we suit up properly accordingly. Sometimes the kids don't have school because it's too cold too.

We are not too northern here and thankfully not. I'd be sending Danny out hunting more and not allowed to come back until he brings home bear or moose. Aside for the meat and all, the hide would be used for hats, mittens, boots, anything to keep us warm. We already have fur boot made by Manitobaa*. Or we go to the trading posts and buy it from First Nations. A respect is to be had when using animals for clothing, making sure that all the animal is used and not just killed for its fur. The Manitobaa company is a good one for that. Anyways. I could go on and on about it.

wow this is really nice, i love all the separate areas of growing and the greenery. jalapenos yum!! great photos too.

Yeap! SO much better than just on the ground, and you can really pack a lot into those Squares...

great idea! pretty cool that those fit so much food in them too. thanks for showing this ...

๐Ÿ˜Ž ๐Ÿ˜ ๐Ÿ˜˜

Pretty cool it looks and some great growth there :)

Nice, I've been working on a little victory garden for theraputic reasons and to pickup some 'farming' skills. Got lettuce maturing, I think my radishes were a little too old, and zucchini are on schedule. A few blueberry shrubs but they won't produce fruit for a few years yet.

Very Nice! I used to hate gardening but it's relaxing now.

Thinking of adding a raised bed or two but it may get in the way of my Kenjutsu practice space.

You could use those as high points and jump up and down from them... ;)
Make sure they are properly secured!

๐Ÿ˜‚

Thanks, I also found a fellow who's a ninja veggie Gardener that gave me the original inspiration but he has a different style and a bigger garden space. "Slicing veggies? No Problem."

Thanks, I also found a fellow who's a ninja veggie Gardener that gave me the original inspiration but he has a different style and a bigger garden space. "Slicing veggies? No Problem."

I was supposed to say it's like foxy's garden and here she is. ^^ Boom! I wish I have a bigger area for planting as you all have.

I am everywhere. Kuk Sool Ninja I am, here but not seen, till I want to be seen :p

P.S I havent had a full coffee yet. I don't know what I'm saying.

HI DAWNEE!!! :*

Hey Undieeeee!

What a beautiful vegetable garden! It must be a very satisfying hobby for you and your mom. Gardening has been one of the most calming and relaxing endeavors for me. Thanks for sharing. Take care, my friend.

Those onions look delicious!

I hope so! Thanx for stopping by :-D

Fantastic work big guy! I'm with you on the whole radish thing. ๐Ÿ˜

Hehee, yeah, the radishes are done now and we can use the space for something else. I think the zucchini will take that over.

Awesome raised beds and I am sorry to hear about your old mans heart attack. However, I am thrilled that it was caught and handled. Very cool of you to be thinking of your mum and doing the gardening and such. It is always wonderful to see the effort you put in literally grow into a usable resource. Thanks so much for sharing and love to see how it all turns out!!

I am thinking for a possible SHTF it will be handy, but in any event it is good to have. Fresh stuff is always better! The stuff I did not show is doing well, the lettuce, jalapenos and the rest. Well worth the effort ;)

Fantastic and happy to hear! Love the hot stuff!!

This post has received a 30.81 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @underground.

Looking good man. Those onions were a great idea. Keep up the good work and post updates. I like to see how everyone's garden is doing.

25ยข for the onions, and most of them are growing! I had too much water in the planter box that most of them are in, but I used my knife and "drilled" holes in there for drainage. Pretty sure I caught it in time!

Nice. Most people don't realize how much stuff they can re-plant after being "used". Onions, a garlic clove, celery, pineapples....the list goes on and on. Good thing you caught it in time. Onions like well drained soil. Good luck with your garden.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61744.65
ETH 2678.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59