What's Cooking Challenge - Ravioli with Lobster Alfredo Sauce

in #foodphotography6 years ago

Ravioli with Lobster Alfredo Sauce

PlateItUp.jpg

Click the above photo to enlarge

This is a rich and filling, cheesy, creamy dish. The lobster gives it a little bit of added protein and flavor. I put this together in stages, but all in all it's pretty simple and easy.

Prepare the lobster

Shrimp or crab would work in this dish as well, but being in New England for the summer I'm taking advantage of the local lobster.

I started out with a fresh live and kicking lobster

TheBeast.jpg

Legs.jpg

TheBeast_2.jpg

Bring a pot of salted water to a boil.

The lobster goes in head first.

ThePlunge.jpg

Cover and boil her for about 20 minutes

Our cooked lobster comes out with a nice rosy red color!

Cooked.jpg

I let it cool down a bit and then plucked the meat out.

Meat.jpg

Cook the ravioli

I used a package of fresh 4 cheese ravioli and cooked it for 7 minutes according to the package directions

CookThe Ravi.jpg

When they were done. I drained them and coated them with a little bit of olive oil to keep them from sticking.

The sauce

Chop up a bunch of Italian parsley and grate 3 cloves of garlic. I like things garlicky so I grate mine. If your would like it less garlicky than just chop it or slice it.

GarlicAndParsley.jpg

In a large pan melt a half stick of butter

MeltButter.jpg

Stir in the garlic and cook it for about 30 seconds.

AddGarlic.jpg

Stir in the lobster meat

AddLobster.jpg

Add a pint of light cream and bring it to a boil

AddCream.jpg

Lower the heat and add 2 cups of shredded cheese and the parsley

AddCheeseAndParsley.jpg

When the cheese has melted add the ravioli and gently toss them to coat them with the sauce.

AddRavioli.jpg

Plate the ravioli with a side of crusty bread

PlateItUp.jpg

Enjoy

Me.jpg

This is my entry for #whatscookingchallenge by @jaynie.

and also

#foodphotography by @juliank and @photocontests daily photography contest.

Here’s the challenge:

NB: The #whatscookingchallenge is an ONGOING challenge, so you can enter WHENEVER you want and as OFTEN as you want!
1: Use the #whatscookingchallenge tag and tag me @jaynie in your post.
2: Create and publish a post showcasing something that
you have prepared in your kitchen which is either
a) uniquely yours, or b) has been adapted and made your own.
(The more elaborate the post the better, naturally...)
PS. This is NOT limited to "plates of food" - it can be preserves, snacks, anything!
3: Accompany the post with at least 2 photos of whatever it is that you have prepared.
(and in the spirit of avoiding plagiarism, a photo of YOU WITH your dish would be a plus, but is not a requirement)
4: Tag at least 5 (but not limited to) of your foodie friends
that you think would like to participate...

Today I'm tagging:
@papacrusher
@watersnake101
@jaynie
@traciyork
@zord189

All photos, images and text in my posts are my original work.

Please visit my galleries on the following sites:
Society6
Fine Art America

Follow me on Facebook

Enjoy!

Roger

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

asapers 2.png
Banner by @shai-hulud

Sort:  

Hmmm I want to try this but alas my family don't like the idea of lobster so it would be a rare treat for my self :D looks super good :)

You could try using shrimp or crab meat instead! Thank you for your comments!

You could try using
Shrimp or crab meat instead! Thank
You for your comments!

                 - rwedegis


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

You have set up the bar with the lobster lol. Awesome work! Lobster is really expensive here..... Hmm let me think of an alternative. Maybe will cook something up over the weekend.

I bet that it would be really tasty with those blue crabs that you have there. Just a little more work getting the meat out!

Oh man, that looks absolutely amazing! Thank you for sharing the recipe, it's one I'm definitely going to have to try for myself at some point :D

Thank you. It's pretty easy to make and well worth it!

This does look delicious. Next time I'm scuba diving I'm gonna grab a lobster and try this recipe. Thanks for sharing the recipe :-)

That would be awesome with fresh caught lobster!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-13T14:48:33
Account Level: 6
Total XP: 3333.16/6400.00
Total Photos: 311
Total comments: 81
Total contest wins: 26
And have also received a 6.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46