#Whatscookingchallenge by @jaynie : Low Country Bake

All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien



Finished Product of the Low Country Bake


#Whatscookingchallenge by @jaynie : Low Country Bake


If there is one thing we are famous for in the South, it is our low country boils. This intoxicating conconction of seafood, spices, and spuds is a messy good time. It is very labor intensive and takes a fairly long time to cook. As a great alternative, I stumbled upon an amazing recipe for a Low Country Bake. It is all of the goodness with much less work and mess. Of course, I have never found a recipe that I haven't modified with my own flair, so what follows is my own rendition of a Low Country Bake and my first entry for the #whatscookingchallenge created by the talented @jaynie!


The Indgredients

First, let's start with everything you will need to complete this self-professed masterpiece! Of course, you can substitute various items for things you may have a better taste for, but I can't guarantee the awesomeness of it if you deviate too much!

  • Three Pounds of Georgia Boy or Alabama Boy Smoked Sausage
  • Three Pounds of Large Shrimp
  • One Small Bag of Red Potatoes
  • One Large Container of Lump Crab Meat
  • One Bottle of Zatarain's Shrimp and Crab Boil
  • Minced Garlic
  • Butter
  • One Large Vidalia (Sweet) Onion
  • Old Bay Seasoning
  • Everglades Seasoning
    For super-duper fantastical super secret version, you can also add a pound or so of crawfish. If you add crawfish, cook them with the shrimp and potatoes.

Seafood Sauce:

  • 8 to 10 Ounces of Original Velveeta
  • Two Cans of Cream of Celery Soup
  • 3/4 Cup of Half and Half

Wow, that's a lot of ingredients, right? I said this was good, not cheap!


Now the Hard Part

Now you take a large rectangular, deep pan and line it with tinfoil to make clean up much, much easier. Pre-heat your oven to 400 degrees.


Don't mind the beat up pan, it has been a loyal companion for many years.
I usually start with the sausage by cutting it up into bite-sized medallions and then cooking it until browned with a good coating of Everglades Seasoning and Old Bay Seasoning. Once cooked, drain thoroughly and set aside for now.


Some people prefer Alabama Boy, but I swear by Georgia Boy!

Next, we move onto the red potatoes. Cut these into manageable pieces and set them aside. Take your thawed shrimp and make sure they are deveined and peeled(including the tail).

Now we take a large pot and fill it with hot water. I get a little crazy with garlic and seasonings in general so take the next instructions with a grain of salt ( see what I did there? lol) I add two heaping table spoons ( yes I said TABLE spoons) of minced garlic and add to the water. Also, add the entire bottle of the shrimp and crab boil seasoning. As you are waiting for the water to come to a roiling boil, cut your sweet onion up into small pieces. Once, the water is boiling fast and furious, add the potatoes and onions and cook until the onions are translucent and the potatoes are soft. At this point add the shrimp ( and crawfish if using) to the water and cook approximately 2- 3 minutes. It is absolutely imperative that you not cook the shrimp too long or they will be tough and rubbery. Continue to stir to keep the shrimp under water and cooking. Take off of heat and let set. The longer the items stay in the pot of water, the spicier they will be. Once you are comfortable with the level of spicy heat, drain all of the items in a colander and set to the side.


There is no such thing as too much garlic!

In another pan, take a half of stick of butter and melt down on medium heat until bubbling. Now add a teaspoon of garlic and let pan fry for a few moments. Add the can of crab meat to the butter and cook until hot throughout and set aside.

The next step is not difficult, but it can be a bit tricky. Sauces are the most finicky of all creations of the face of the earth and they are insanely jealous of your time and attention, so make sure you have everything done and that you can dedicate your undivided attention to the sauce preparation. The biggest mistake I see with new cooks is rushing things or attempting to juggle other chores while cooking.

Take your Velveeta and cut it into cubes. This will increase the speed at which it melts and it will make your sauce creamier. Take a pot and add the two cans of soup, the half and half, some sprinkles of Old Bay seasoning, and a pinch of Everglades seasoning. On low to medium low heat, continually stir as you slowly add a cube at a time of the Velveeta. Do not, I repeat, do not take your eyes off of the sauce and do not stop stirring until all of the Velvetta is added and melted down to a smooth sauce. If you are not careful it will scorch and your final creation will have a slightly burnt flavor.

Now that the sauce in complete, we can start layering items into our rectangular pan. First, add the crab meat and then add the sausage, shrimp, potatoes and onions. Next, add the seafood sauce and make sure it is spread evenly throughout the pan. Place the pan in the oven at 400 degrees and cook for 15 minutes.

After cooking for 15 minutes, remove the pan from the oven and let cool slightly, but not enough to cool all the way. You want to serve this fairly hot. Plate generous portions because you just became the best friend to everyone in your entire household!


This looks good enough to eat!

This dish is perfect and filling all by itself, but if you are like me you think every meal needs some kind of bread. This pairs perfectly with garlic cheese biscuits or a robust Asiago cheese toast! I really hope you try this recipe, I promise you will not be disappointed! Thank you to @jaynie for creating this challenge. It was so fun creating this post and thanks for reading it.

I think that @gails-word-syrup @foxyspirit @happyhousewife @nickbuha and @derangedvisions may enjoy this challenge as well!

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

Mygaaaashhh! It's lunch time here in PH and after seeing this one, I want to eat seafoods. I want to eat this dish. I bet it taste delicious!!

It was really tasty. It was one of the best dishes I've cooked recently.

Saw this in @jaynie's food post and had to stop over! THIS LOOKS so heavenly to me- I am a homecookin', comfort food kind of gal and this is just perfect to have while curled up, reading book while the rain pitter-patters on the roof!

Thanks for coming by. This is exactly what this dish is perfect for!

Looks and sounds delicious!! Gotta love the Old Bay! ;)

Lol I'd put old bay on ice cream if my wife would let me!

You talked about it and now you will keep wondering until you try it! I bet it will be good..maybe! ;)

Wow! This is way over my instant-Ramen-burnnig head!

And I thought putting together a computer was "labor intensive"?

Love that description of "bite sized medallions" though...

Namaste, JaiChai

Thanks for the comment and support! It is not as hard as it looks and the "labor" is absolutely worth the effort!

Droollls! The shrimp is so so inviting! :D

Shrimp is one of my favorite foods! I can eat it just about any way it can be cooked.

yum looks good! it has a lot of tasty ingredients like shrimp and crab meat :D my fav

Thanks for coming by. It is really tasty and it has some of my favorite ingredients as well.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 06:15:17
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 360.00/200.00
Total Photos: 44
Total comments: 111
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I am not a fan of seafood but I think I just might be now! This looks great! Enough to make me want to lick the plate!
Thanks for tagging me, I will check it out and see what I can offer ^_^

I figured with your mad baking skills this chalkenge was up your alley. Definitely dont feel pressure to participate if its not your thing. Thanks for the compliments! I ate way too much of this and I'm not ashamed to say i licked the plate too!

mad baking skills

Thank you ^_^ Its a learning process and work in progress :)

You made me laugh with licking the plate XD

Is the challenge to do a step by step of a dish of sorts? Not sure I found the right link to it.

Try this link. She has the steps for the challenge towards the bottom of the post after the spotlight entries.

Thank you! xx

Oh my, that looked so yummy! Never really try this dish in Asia, I shall try making this one day! Thanks for sharing your receipe @papacrusher :D

Thanks for taking the time and commenting! I hope you get a chance to make it and share the results!

Yes surely i will! Have a good day @papacrusher! :)

damn! damn! DAAAAMN!!! he does poetry and cooks like a freakin ROCKSTAR!!!!!! whoop whoop!!! hehehehe :) AWESOME! DEFINITELY going to try my hand at this @papacrusher!

Lol thanks @jaynie! You wont regret trying it!

I have NO DOUBT @papacrusher :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67343.52
ETH 3227.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65