Pamcooks Curious Creamy Cullen Skink Soup!💛🥔😋🥣👍💛

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

image

Hello my steemian buddies,

So todays recipe is inspired by a traditional Scottish dish called Cullen Skink.This recipe today is dedicated to my fellow steemian @meesterboom. He is such an amazing writer whether it his fictional stories or his everyday tales.He honestly has me in bits, with his very colourful language and illustrations to his stories. I am now an avid reader and every Thursday I have to stop by for Uncle Booms installment!

We recently discovered we both lived in the UK. @meesterboom lives up North and we were discussing how amazing Cullen Skink is.Well pamcooks brain (my hubby says it's a very little brain.lol) started to think of some invitive culinary ideas for this traditional soup.

Firstly the vital ingredient for a Cullen Skink is a nice smoked fish.When I was younger my grandma used to make the best fish curries and fried fish, using all the off cuts from our local market.She would use this very distinctive spice called Ajwain (Carom Seeds).Ajwain is a spice originating from India.The taste reminds me of some beautiful moments spent with her.I had to get this flavour incorporated in the soup but stick to the traditional Scottish ingredients.

I think i finally cracked this one.I do make a mean Cullen Skink recipe.I may not stick to the original methods, however it tastes good.This is my pamcooks special fusion creation for you all!

Enjoy!


Ingredients


Cullen Skink Soup
250g Smoked haddock
1 Large Potatoe
1/2 leek
300ml Milk
1 Small Onion
2 Bay Leaves
1 TBSP Curry Powder
1 TSP Smoked Paprika
1 TSP Carom Seeds
Salt ( to taste)
Pepper( to taste)
70g Cheese


Bread Bowl
650g Strong Flour
450ml Water ( hot not boiling)
7g Yeast
1 1/2 TBSP Salt
1 TBSP Olive Oil
1 TSP Sugar


Method


Step 1.
Ensure you have the correct flour to make the bread.This is strong white flour specially made for baking bread.
image

Step 2.
Mix water and yeast together.Leave for 10 minutes Let it froth and add olive oil and sugar.
image

Step 3.
Place the flour in a big mixing bowl.
image

Step 4.
Slowly pour the wet mixture into the flour.
image

Step 5.
Mix the wet and dry ingredients.At this point add the salt.If you put it in to early this could kill the yeast and will not make your bread rise.
image

Step 6.
Take the dough.Dust your surface with flour.On the work surface begin to knead the dough.
image

Step 7.
This should take 10 minutes.Keep stretching out the dough and kneading it.The dough will be very sticky.Keep dusting.Eventually the dough will come together in a ball.
image

Step 8.
Now rub the oil in a clean mixing bowl.Place the dough ball in the bowl.Place a sheet of cling film over the bowl.Leave to prove in a warm place for 30 - 40 mins.
image

Step 9.
After the dough has proved, this will have risen to double in size.
image

Step 10.
Take the cling film off the bowl.( Now the best bit) Punch the air out the dough.
image

Step 11.
Take the dough back out the bowl.Knead again for few minutes to form back into a round loaf shape.
image

Step 12.
Place the dough in an oil greased round tin.Leave for 10 minutes for it to rise again slightly.
image

Step 13.
Pre heat the oven to Gas Mark 9.Crack the egg and use only the whites and whisk.
image

Step 14.
Now cut the bread with a criss cross.This will ensure steam can release from the bake.Now brush the egg whites all over the top of the dough.Place in the oven.
image

Step 15.
Place the tin on the middle shelf.
image

Step 16.
( Pams Tip - to ensure perfect rising bread place a tray with water filled on the top shelf.This will produce steam, which will inturn activate any remaining yeast).Ensure you place the dough bowl underneath the tray.
image

Step 17.
After 5 mins decrease the heat to Gas Mark 5.Cook for further 35 mins until golden brown.
image.

Step 18.
Take out the oven and leave to cool on wire rack.If you tap the bottom of the bread bowl it should make a hollow sound.If it does not place in oven until fully baked.
image

Step 19.
The bread will be ready to serve contain the Cullen Skink soup. To obtain the bowl design cut a smaller circle on top.Scooping out the bread flesh.
image

Step 20.
For the soup peel the skin off the poatoe. Roughly dice and boil the potatoes.Ensure they are cooked but still firm.Set aside.

image

Step 21.
Thoroughly wash the leeks removing the grit.Cut the leeks thinly.Leave aside.
image

Step 22.
Peel and chop the onion.
image

Step 23.
Wash & debone the smoked haddock and set aside.
image

Step 24.
Wash and finely cut the chives.
image

Step 25.
The main spices are curry powder, carom seeds and 2 bay leaves.Set aside
image

Step 25.
Grate the cheese,now we can begin cooking the soup.
image.

Step 26.
Heat some oil in large deep pan.Cook on a high heat.Once oil heats up turn the heat low.Place the leeks and onion in the pan.Put the heat back to medium.
image

Step 27.
Once the onions and leeks turn slightly brown.Add the bay leaf, carom seeds and curry powder.Ensure you cook the spices in the oil to release the lovely spice aromas.
image

Step 28.
When the spices are cooked pour the milk in and keep on stirring on a medium heat.
image

Step 29.
Add black pepper and smoked paprika.
image

Step 30. When the milk starts to boil turn the heat low and place the potatoes and chives in.Cook for a few minutes on a medium heat.
image

Step 31. Add your smoked haddock chunks continue too cook for few minutes.You can add salt and pepper to your own taste.
image

Step 32. Now add your cheese.Let the cullen skink thicken.This will happen as some of the potatoes disintegrate.( I normally have my soup more thin but as i have made bread bowl i have kept the soup more thick to ensure it does not make the bread soggy inturn leaking).
image

Step 33. Your Cullen Skink is now ready to be transferred in the bread bowl.Place the soup in the bread bowl. Decorate with whole chives.
image

There you have my very sutterly infused Cullen Skink soup in a homemade crusted bread bowl.This defo is one of my fav recipes to have adapted to pamcooks style.


My Foodie Pics


image

image

image

All my photos and content used in this post are my original work. My photos were taken on my Samsung S8 camera phone👍🏼📸


I hope you like my fusion Cullen Skink as I certainly did! The use of carom seeds really took me back to my childhood! My homemade bowl really made it feel like such an occasion. Mmmm what other flavour combinations would you try with this soup?🤔.Thanks for stopping by with @pamcooks. Let me know your food for Though!❤🥔👌🥣❤


Sort:  

I really appreciate your efforts - keep up the good work (keep writing long articles)! :)

Aww thank you @jaki01 to get comments like yours is amazing and really motivates me.I do not get chance to post that often, as i have 4 beautiful, naughty kids and a husband to look after.When i do i like to post quality content.If one person tries my recipe honestly would make my day.I really do appreciate all the support.Thank you!! 👍👍

I think it is a good choice to produce quality instead of quantity.

Concerning trying your recipes maybe one day my wife, @kobold-djawa, might dare that. :)

@jaki01 I have already been speaking to your wife bless her.She wanted to know a good biryarni recipe.I will be posting that very soon for her.So you will defo get to taste one of my recipes.Hope you will both like it.👍

Now then @pamcooks where's my sweat and sour?? haha. love the food you have put on here today, I'd like a nice big spoon to dig in deep.

Hope your well and having a nice bank holiday weekend.

:) xx

Drew the weather is friggin awesome.I haven't been well had a cold so haven't been active much on steemit.Back on it though now.Dont you worry.I haven't forgotten your sweet & sour dish.Will be making that this week.lol.i am working on it.🤔

Glad you liked my soup.As a chef bet your critical.I know should poach the fish in the milk first and all that malarky.But I just cook what works for me.lol

Just relaxing in the garden with my tribe now.In the words of maccy dz, They are loving it!!!

As a chef you would think that I am critical but your wrong haha, I like to try all foods and what works for one and doesn't work for another suits me fine. everybody's tastes are different and from the years of working in the industry I have learned you can't please everybody.
I am laid on my bed at the minute as I have to go to work in 45 mins and I would rather be like you guys and soaking up the sun.
No work means no cash and we are off to gulivers kingdom on monday so I need every penny I can get my hands on right now.
Starting my cooking show soon. just got to decorate the kitchen and that's my next project then I am away hopefully steemit and youtube love me and I make millions haha.

Hope you have a nice afternoon, :)

I have to admit, something named Cullen Skink does not sound appealing 😂 but it looks good and sounds delicious. I definitely learned something about bread too and love that your Grandma's memory was with you. I know just what you mean and thought of mine when I was in the kitchen this morning making Huevos Rancheros. Those memories always make the food taste better.

😂😂😂 lol i hear what you are saying.Dont judge a book by its cover.Or in our case dont judge a recipe by its name.lol.But its such a simple soup but very tasty indeed.
Food plays such an integral role in our life.The memories it evokes with certain food is amazing.You may think i have lived a sheltered life but i didn't know what a huevos rancheros was.Wow i googled it.Yum yum what fab brekfast dish.With tortilla base and egg drenched in lovely sauces.Love a bit of quacamole! Defo will try and make that.👍

You may not have know what Huevos Rancheros was, but I didn't know WHO or WHAT Cullen Skink was! 😂 I will be posting the Rancheros process and recipe. I just posted about a salsa I made and had to mention you because of the memories of your Grandma in this post. I loved reading that!

Looks so delicious 😍

It really was.Very hearty meal indeed.👍

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the look out for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)




Hi LOVE YOUR POST MAN!!! LIKE MY POST TOO!!!!! HERE IS THE LINK: https://steemit.com/bots/@abusereports/last-minute-upvote-list-2018-05-02

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-05T11:25:06
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 44.70/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 18
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hi LOVE YOUR POST MAN!!! LIKE MY POST TOO!!!!! HERE IS THE LINK: https://steemit.com/bots/@abusereports/last-minute-upvote-list-2018-05-02

Delicious. i want some.

Aww bless.Oatmeal you have to try the recipe out.It tastes yummy!

Very good Curious Creamy Cullen Skink Soup!💭

Thank you @aiman
Hope you will try this recipe!

Aah my friend I only know simple cooking. ♨

This is looking difficult for me, and my wife also learn from me how to cook.🛁

My friend your husband is very very lucky that you are his wife.

He should be praise to God.💐

Take Care.❄

Good Night 🌘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57