Pamcooks Beautiful Bountiful Lamb Biryani Bowl!! โค๐Ÿš๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿœโค

in #foodphotography โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

image

Hi my gorgeous steemians,

How are you guys today. Well I am very excited about posting this dish. This is one of mine and my husbands favourite foods. My lovely fellow steemian @kobold-djawa wanted to know if I had a Biryani recipe. Like me she is a very busy mommy and wife with a real passion for food. We share many of the same ideas, especially our views on environmental issues! ( Dont get me started, I may not stop).

Well I have my very own version I learnt from my mom and I will be showing all you lovely steemers, including @kobold-djawa, how too make it.

So what is a Biryani? Well, a Biryani is a dish consisting of spiced layered rice and meat. Traditionally the dish can be made with chicken, beef or lamb. You could make a seafood version with fish and prawns. It originates from Indian subcontinent with various versions available from different regions in South Asia.

Normally pamcooks has a fusion twist with different flavours. I have to hold my hands up and say some dishes need to be left alone. I personally think this is one of them. If it's not broke don't try and fix it. So I will be sticking to the original flavours with only a few of my own tweaks.

As I mentioned before this is one of my husbands favs. It always gets me in his good books. The famous saying, the way to a mans heart is through his stomach.So I hope @kobold-djawa cooks this recipe as she will need to make it for her husband @jaki01. (I kind of suggested his wife would be making it for him. Sorry @kobold-djawa no pressure.lol).

Hope you can follow my step by step guide.There are a few elements to the dish.Once you have all the ingredients it is not too difficult to make.Enjoy!


Ingredients


Lamb Biryani Dry Mix
1 Cinnamon Stick
3 Cardamom Pods
3 Cloves
1 TSP Dried Minced Garlic
1 TSP Ginger Flakes
1 Bay Leaf
1 TSP Coriander Whole Seeds
2 Red Chillies
1 TSP Roasted Cumin
4 Black Peppercorns
1 TSP Salt


Rice
2 Cups Basmati Rice
6 Cups Water
4 Cardamom Pods
4 Cloves
1 Cinnamon stick
1TBSP Salt


Lamb Curry
800g Lamb Pieces
5 TBSP Yoghurt
1 TBSP Lamb Biryani Mix
1 Large Red Onion
3 Garlic Cloves
1 TBSP Ginger
1 TBSP Tomatoe Puree
4 Cloves
1 Cinnamon Stick
4 Cardomom Pod
1 TBSP Turmeric for yoghurt marinade
1 TBSP Turmeric for cooking spices
1 TSP Hot Chilli Powder
1 TSP Smoked Paprika
1 TSP Salt
1/2 TSP Pepper
3 TBSP Oil


Garnish
1/2 Leek
150g Butter
40g Fresh Coriander
40g Fresh Mint
2 TBSP Sugar
2 TSP Saffron
1/2 Cup Water for Saffron
1/2 Cup Water for Sugar


Method


Step 1. Place all the Lamb Biryani Dry Mix ingredients in a mortar. Using the pestle crush all the ingredients until it becomes a powder. If you have no patience to make your own, you can use a pre bought Biryani packet mix from your local supermarket.
image

Step 2. Wash the Lamb thoroughly and cut in to small pieces. ( I like leaving my meat on the bone as the bone ommits more of an intense Lamb flavour).
image

Step 3. Add the Yoghurt, Biryani Spice Mix, Turmeric and Salt to the Lamb and mix.
image

Step 4. Ensure the Lamb is fully coated with the yoghurt marinade. Leave in the fridge for minimum of 2 hours.( I left mine over night as the flavours penetrate the meat, the longer it is left.)
image

Step 5. In a big pot, heat the oil on a medium setting. Put in a Cinnamon Stick, Cloves, Bay Leaves and Cardamom Pod and fry to release the wonderful aromas.
image

Step 6. Now add diced Red Onions to the pot.
image

Step 7. Keep stirring to sweat the Red Onions.
image

Step 8. Now add the crushed Ginger and Garlic.
image

Step 9. Add the Biryani Spice Dry Mix, Garam Masala, Turmeric, Smoked Paprika, Salt and Pepper.
image

Step 10. Mix all the ingredients together. The onions should start to fry and become much darker.
image

Step 11. Now add the marinated Lamb in the pot.
image

Step 12. Now sear the Lamb and keep on cooking. You should see the colour change from the pale white shade to a slightly browner colour.
image

Step 13. Once the Lamb is sealed and the colour is lightbrown ( this should take about 10 mins). Then add the Tomatoe Puree in.
image

Step 14. Mix thoroughly.Keep cooking on a medium heat.The colour will become very rich.
image

Step 15. Once the Lamb starts spitting oil and the sauce is drying out, pour hot boiling water just until it it covers the Lamb.
image

Step 16. Put on the lowest heat setting.Place the lid on top. Let it simmer for 55 minutes.
image

Step 17. The sauce should have reduced in turn the Lamb should be tender. If it is not then add more boiling water and let it simmer for another 30 minutes.
image

Step 18. Once the Lamb is cooked, set aside to construct the Biryani.
image

Step 19. To make the Rice element to the Biryani, wash the Basmati Rice until the water runs clear and the starch is removed.
image

Step 20. Now soak the rice in water for 30 minutes. Ensure the water covers the rice.
image

Step 21. After 30 mins remove the water and add 2/3 fresh water to the rice in the pan. Add Salt, Cardamom Pods, Cinnamon Sticks and Cloves.Boil for 15mins, make sure Rice is aldente, as it will continue cooking in the oven.
image

Step 22. Remove of the heat. Drain the excess water. Place foil over the top and place lid on for 5 minutes to rest.

image

Step 23. The rice will be cooked at this stage. Using a fork fluff up the Rice. Remove the spices.Set aside.
image

Step 24. To make one of the garnishes cut Leeks or onions in a pan and cook in butter on a low heat.
image

Step 25. In about 10 minutes the Leeks should have softened and become crisp. Again set aside.
image

Step 26. To add the traditional yellow colour on the Rice, place a small pinch of Saffron in warm water roughly half a cup. Leave for few minutes until the water changes colour to a deep yellow. Set aside.
image

Step 27. In a cup add Sugar to Water and mix. This will be used to sprinkle over the Biryani.
image

Step 28. All the components are ready now to assemble the Biryani. Take a deep casserole dish.Rub Butter all over and place a portion of rice in the dish for the first layer.
image

Step 29. Sprinkle the Sugar Water, Saffron Water and place a few nobs of Butter.
image

Step 30. Now place a small portion of the Lamb onto the rice. Sprinkle some of the Leeks over the top.
image

Step 31. Sprinkle fresh Mint and Coriander.
image

Step 32. Place the Rice again and follow the previous steps of layering all the ingredients.
image

Step 33. Continue until the casserole dish is full.
image

Step 34. Now cover with the lid and place in the oven for 40 minutes Gas Mark 6/ 200 ยฐc.
image

Step 35. After 40 minutes your Biryani is made. Leave to rest for 5 minutes then serve immediately.
image

There you have pamcooks gorgeous Biryani. This is a feast for the eyes.I have served mine in my authentic indian bowls, which my mummy bought for me from India.I garnished mine with a handful of fresh Mint and Coriander leaves, sprinkled with Ceyenne & Smoked Paprika with a lovely wedge of lemon. Try a side of natural yoghurt topped with mint, it is devine.Yum Yum.Sheer Bliss!!

Everyone has their own version of this dish.Mine is quite light but very fragrant.It is important to use fresh ingredients to enhance the flavour.This recipe will feed 6. (Or maybe only 2, as me and my husband scoffed the lot).


My Foodie Pics


image

image

image

image

image

image

All my photos and content used in this post are my original work. My photos were taken on my Samsung S8 camera phone.๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ๐Ÿ“ธ


I hope you like my fabulous Biryani recipe.It may not be the authentic way to cook it but it is pamcooks way.I have no complaints from my hungry gang. You can even make a vegetarian version using soya chunks.I hope you find my recipe tasty.Thanks for stopping by with @pamcooks. Let me know your food for Though!โค๐Ÿš๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿœโค

Sort: ย 

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply โ€œNo Voteโ€ if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Another delicious recipe again!

Aww thank you @gmichelbkk. This one is defo one of my favs.๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘

I mentioned your post in my last post.

Wow!!! It looks really very beautiful and yummy! ;)

Aww bless you @mayasiam.
This is defo one to try! Love your posts followed back.๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘โ™ฅ๏ธ

Woow ,, looks really good ..

Aww thank you @silvia, it tasted even better. I hope you have ago at this recipe.๐Ÿ‘Œ

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-27T23:43:48
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 57.70/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 18
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55