Amazing Food And Drink That Actually Changes Colors

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

5cf38ffe-a447-4465-bfb0-4b5ccc6658bf.jpeg


What I love most about these noodles is they're naturally blue. This is not artificial food dye.
And since I play with my food like I'm not supposed to, I'm obsessed with these blue noodles.

So, how are they even blue? There's this flower in Thailand called "Butterfly Pea."

And it's literally magical.

Seriously.

This flower changes colors like a mood ring. You can make drinks out of it, too.

Watch the video of this drink actually changing colors (click it, I dare you):

(@daveonarrival told me to film in landscape...which I promise I'll start doing! I took this footage a couple of weeks ago when I was still a newb, haha)

All you have to do to make the magic happen is squirt a little lemon or lime on it. It changes the color from blue to purple or violet (the more lime you use, the more it turns violet).

I've been making all of my noodles and rice blue or purple now.

Mix it with some veggies, cilantro, lime and organic chicken and you have a fun, cheap, quick, gluten-free meal. Also, Anchan has anti-oxidants and supposedly helps your memory, too... So eat up!

But most importantly, a PURPLE meal. And purple drank to go with it.

If you're ever in Chiang Mai and are too lazy to make your own noodle masterpiece...just go to Anchan Noodle (Anchan meams butterfly pea in Thai).

Everything they sell there is blue, and you can get an entire meal as low as 40 baht (about $1.20 USD).

All I can say is I never want roses for Valentine's day again (even though they make a good food dye, too).

I'll take a bouquet of butterfly pea flowers, please!

~This is for the food photography Monday photocontest by @juliank ~


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot | IPFS | Google Play
Sort:  

This is the first time hearing of this blue noodles. truly fascinating wow! The way it changes colors like a mood ring

the color changing is my favorite part...maybe I should've filmed my reaction. You'd literally think I was 5 years old lol

Whoa $1.20 for a meal?!?! That's practically free!

I know! Oh man I think I forgot to respond to one of your comments the other day. Just to let you know, both of them matter me laugh! I upvoted at least your one comment I could find again.

I honestly can't figure out how they stay in business with such cheap prices. I tried to do the math on it and 🤷🏻‍♀️

Thanks for the upvote! Your posts are so entertaining to read.

Too cool!...now like a mood ring, when you put your mouth to the meal or drink will it change colors again depending on the mood your appetite is in?:))
I knew nothing of this alchemical coloring botanical.
Quality content, fun and unique!

haha thanks!! I think that would be the COOLEST if it would change based on your mood. @kuttlefishx I saw something today in Malaysia and thought of you.... here I took a picture for you...

Is this what inspired your steemit name?

Oh Noooooo! Please don't tell me you partook in eating such a thing? Hahahahe!, you are tracking all over my past haunts!
But never came across the tofu version of cuttlefish. But yes I love the Cuttlefish for its amazing colorful and just outrageous ways it can communicate and take on its environment and look like it...literally.
It's like an artistic living masterpiece swimming in the sea.
If you did eat some I forgive you:))
I bet you could find some in an aquarium somewhere in Thailand or Malaysia.
If you do say hi for me!
2018-02-07 20.26.07.jpg

I didn't eat it. Just saw it and thought of you 😀

Wow this flower seems to be absolutly amazing! Especially the colour it makes the food looks adventurous :D

wow looks poisonous 😋

It's actually the opposite! Butterfly pea flower/tea has a lot of health benefits! Antioxidants and anti-inflammatory properties! Supposed to help your memory as well...hmm maybe I need to drink it more lol

Thats great..i got to start drinking it too..thanks for sharing

Are you sure they were serving you noodles and not the Silly Bands from 2010?
I am all about that blue drank to purple drank, though. What's it taste like?

In the noodles it doesn't change the flavor much. As a drink, the taste depends if there's lime or not... But you definitely want to add some flavors or make some kind of concoction because it's kind of earthy. Thais just put a lot of sugar and it tastes great but probably not healthy lol.

I'm surprised you didn't try it in Chiang Mai! Well.. not totally... They don't advertise very well. I totally found out about butterfly pea/ Anchan on my own because I randomly bought some of the dried flowers I saw in the supermarket.

Honestly have NEVER seen anything like this in the West or elsewhere, a true food find! Thank you for putting us on this one, amazing capture!

I hadn't either!!! I was literally sooooo excited haha I'm glad you're intrigued by it, too!

Nossa, totalmente diferente para mim, mas aparenta-se ser ótimo.

Different para mim also!

That's interestingly cool! I've never seen like it. How does it taste? It seems to tell how much acid you put into it that's why it changes color, no?

It has to have something to do work that. I'll Google the science behind it. In the noodles it doesn't change the flavor much. As a drink, the taste depends if there's lime or not... But you definitely want to add some flavors or make some kind of concoction because it's kind of earthy. Thais just put a lot of sugar and it tastes great but probably not healthy lol.

They put sugar in everything! They even give you a side of sugar with pad Thai!

nice never seen blue noodles before just followed you and upvoted

Thank you so much!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48