Did I Hear Beignets?

When you live in New Orleans, you tend to do things a little differently and celebrating birthdays are no different. Birthday cake down here is unique when compared to other parts of the country. We could celebrate with the same birthday song and the traditional birthday cake but what fun would that be? Here our birthday cakes usually have a little plastic baby baked in it that you could easily choke on. I've never heard any stories that someone choked on a plastic king cake baby but I've noticed the little baby no longer in the cake but sitting on the cake. I imagine that an accident had to happen for them to change a tradition that has been around for so long.

Cafe_du_Monde_in_New_Orleans,_Louisiana,_USA.jpg
Source

Erring on the side of caution we decided to start a new tradition for a certain someone's birthday (It's @firecajun9262 but shhhhh he's kinda upset that he and I are the same age again). Instead of sticking to normal NOLA tradition of a birthday king cake and possibly choking on the little plastic baby, we decided to go to Cafe Du Monde and have birthday beignets and let me tell you... that was a freaking awesome idea!! Birthday treats have never tasted so good!!

20180826_131102.jpg

Fried and sugary goodness!! This is a very rare treat for us and even though it's been a few years since we were here, they never disappoint and all of a sudden you're sitting there with a powder sugar mustache wondering why it took you so long to make another trip. Especially when you live only ten minutes away.

20180826_131235.jpg

Their signature coffee is a Café au lait, it's bold and strong and made with hot milk. They even offer a frozen version for those of us who prefer a 'frappé' styled coffee. If you ever come to NOLA... I highly recommend you give yourself a little treat and try the beignets at Cafe Du Monde, you will come back for more, I promise.

coolskulldivider.png

Thanks for stopping by y'all!MonchBanner.jpg

Sort:  

Happy Birthday @firecajun9262 - ooooo they look soo good - look at all that sugar!!!! I miss you mon....

And a belated Happy Birthday from me too!

Hey @andysantics48... Thank you!!! I miss you too my hunnie!! We need to have a chat soon!!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-29T21:56:21
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 39.25/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Oh, oh, oh! I can taste the powdered sugar, and hear the scraping of chairs and clinking of mugs. I can smell the sweet, chicory flavoured air... That's a fabulous way to celebrate a birthday. Feels like NOLA, for sure.

Indeed @katrina-ariel!! There's no place like home!! 🖤

Happy Belated birthday @firecajun9262!!!!!! I'm so far behind on my reading and commenting hehehehe

those beignets looked delicious!!!! my gosh i wish i could eat some! I'm gonna REALLY have to come up with a gluten free version of them hehehehe

How did I miss this?!!!! New Orleans treats and birthday on the sly!!!

Happy belated birthday @firecajun9262. Hope you for some fun metal treats to compliment your beignets. ☺️ 🎂 🎉 🎈 🎁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91