🍻Mazzle Reviews Beer - Boatrocker Brewery - Ramjet Stout! 🍻

in #foodphotography6 years ago


Whiskey and Stout!


I knocked off work a bit late today so thought I might as well do something fun, so headed straight to the closest brewery.

Boatrocker Brewing is located in a dodgy industrial area in the suburb of Braeside and is less than 5 minutes from my office, and everyone kept telling me how great their Stouts are. I figured I might as well give one a shot today.

They're newest release, Roger Ramjet, was entirely sold out. So that left me with their regular Stout, Ramjet.


Boatrocker Brewery - Ramjet Stout


This is one hell of a Stout, I actually think I have found my favourite of the big and bold beers. Boatrocker Brewery have this to say about this Stout:

This is a big beer with great malt complexity. Chocolate, coffee, dried fruits, oak, vanilla… and of course whisky! Aged in freshly emptied whisky barrels from our friends at Starward Whisky Distillery in Port Melbourne. The barrels used were wetter than previous years resulting in a higher alcohol content for the 2017 vintage of Ramjet.

And, for almost the first time ever, their description is pretty close to being spot on. This Stout is black, has a long lasting and thick head, a strong aroma of malts, raisins, whiskey, and chocolate and on the palate the beer is thick, creamy and with strong notes of whiskey, chocolate, raisins and malts.

There is no bitterness, and the sweetness works well with this beer. The whiskey flavours are strong and overpowering which works well with this Stout.

My only complaint is that this Stout is intense, which means that one glass is plenty. It took me a good 20 minutes to work through one glass. This is a beer that you sip and appreciate, this is as far from a thirst quencher as you'll get.

Overall, this is one impressive beer. And even though it's quite pricey, it's well worth the purchase.


The Beer Data

BeerTypeOriginABVRating
Ramjet StoutStoutBraeside, Vic11.0%4.8

All ratings are out of 5



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Chocolate and raisins? I know nothing about beer or stouts, but those two things would have never come to mind. But you learn new stuff on Steemit. :)

I never drink beer unless in company. And for the life of me, I’ll never understand why beer tastes okay when people are around...The power of distraction maybe. Nice post, Mazzle.

Thanks Linny. The craft beer scene brings out a lot of creative beers. This one is a good example of that.

If you don’t like the beer you’re drinking it could be that you’re simply drinking bad beer.

I have a big love and hate with stouts ma .. I dont know.. no actually I just dont like stouts come to think of it ;))

But the golden rule enough is enough applies to this one I understand?

Yep. 1 is plenty. I enjoy a good stout. But a bad Stout is just... bad.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 15:29:37
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 278.20/400.00
Total Photos: 27
Total comments: 15
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.18 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69428.61
ETH 3688.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.36