Cabbage Stew from Transylvania

in #foodphotography7 years ago

IMG_6047.jpg

I have Transylvanian origin, and this cabbage stew came from there. It's a wonderful combination of the tasty sour cabbage and the spicy pork stew. We love it in my family, I know the look does not tell much, but believe me it is great! It takes time to prepare, but it's not complicated at all.

How to prepare it

I dice approximately 1500g leg of pork
IMG_6032.jpg

I chop one tomato and one Hungarian white pepper
IMG_6031.jpg

I chop two big onions and put them into 2 tablespoons of melted fat (you can use oil, but the taste is better with fat), we cooked smoked knuckle the day before, so I also added some fatty bits from it (this can be replaced with 100-150 g of chopped bacon.
IMG_6033.jpg

I fry the onions until they become transparent and start to get a nice brownish colour, then add the meat, the pepper, the tomato, 3-4 cloves of garlic (finely chopped), 2 tablespoons of paprika cream (you can use 1 tablespoon of dried and grated paprika instead if you don't have such at home) and some freshly grated black peppers.
IMG_6036.jpg

I mix it and let it cook on medium heat for approximately an hour. (No added water needed, the liquid you see in the picture is coming from the meat and the veggies).
IMG_6037.jpg

After an hour I put the well-rinsed sour cabbage into the pot and mix it with the semi-cooked stew.
IMG_6039.jpg

I also add 150 grams of semi-cooked rice (but this is not compulsory).
IMG_6040.jpg

I mix everything and let it cook for another 1-1,5 hours.
IMG_6041.jpg

Finally, I mix 300 g sour cream with 2 tablespoons of white flour and add it to the stew.
IMG_6043.jpg

Voila, it's ready! You might have noticed that I did not add salt. The sour cabbage and the bacon (or this case the knuckle) has enough salt, but you can taste it at the end and add some if needed. Also if you like it hot, you can cook 1-2 chilli peppers or other hot peppers into it.
IMG_6046.jpg

With this post I would like to join to @jaynie's #whatscookingchallenge. :-)

Steemit Bloggers Join us @steemitbloggers Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.07
Server time: 20:28:29
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 487.03/800.00
Total Photos: 60
Total comments: 49
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

So you are a cook master too
When you gonna arrange a cooking contest 🤣?
Appreciated

Oh, I haven't thought of that... :-)
Brain Games is enough so far... but whoooo knows in the long run :-)

Yups you are right
I participated for the first time in brain games
It really shaken my brain thought I retrieved the solution

I am very happy that you are on board. Watch out for the results tomorrow :-)
You are not the quickest this time, but you can have luck with the random reward... Plus collecting XP during the week may put you on the weekly leaderboard :-)

I am sure that I was late but I like these sort of quizzes and thus solved it

I was in office as you uploaded the quiz. Just sent as I came to home back from office
Living in the area with +5 GMT time zone and that is why I pinged you late
No worries I really really really enjoyed the quiz

Good to hear! :-)
Another good one comes tomorrow!

Sure
Excited 😊

the food was delicious, i wanted to be able to eat

Thanks :-))

yes, if there is time please help me because I want to be assisted by you

All right :-)

thank you, I will always remember your gift to me, I want to be successful like you, how do I have to do

Well, a lot of patience and good posts... :-)

well i will do as your suggestion, thanks, are you there using another app as gobrol

This looks so delicious. I haven't eaten cabbage in a while. Wonderful recipe to try out.

It's really tasty. I can truly recommend it. :-)

I will make it sometime. It's bookmarked as one of my recipes to try.

That looks like REALLY good comfort food @ksolymosi :) Thanks for entering the #whatscookingchallenge :)

Thank you @jaynie. It's a lovely challenge... we get an insight into everyone's kitchen :-)
I enjoy it very much!
XOXO

That looks really comforting. I wondered if there is any purpose of adding the half-cooked rice? To make it thicker and starchier? Good luck with your cooking contest :)

Yes, in old times I guess they wanted the food to have more calories... men were out in the woods or on the fields doing physical activity, they needed a boost in their energy level... :-)
But it works without rice, too. I sometimes add it, sometimes I forget... :-)

Looks very savory! Reminds me a bit of a Polish bigos, that is also a dish made from cabbage, but without paprika and dairy. I like your recipe very much, I'll try it out but in a vegan version :)

Oh, I didn't know about bigos, I'll look it up... :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66739.21
ETH 2594.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70