Ant Egg Soup with Bowl for Scale Bangkok Thailand foodphotography

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

I recently posted a close up of Ant Eggs Vegetable Soup I ate and loved in Bangkok Thailand, and someone asked me about how big the ant eggs are.

Not big! Now you see the whole bowl for scale, and it is a regular size sort of big bowl. The biggest egg is about the size of the tip of my finger and the fetal ants are smaller.

ant egg soup with bowl for scale bangkok thailand fitinfun.jpg

This first picture I posted was of the first bowl and this is the second! I liked it. The flavor and texture were both great. The leaves are the best - everyone agrees. Especially with the ants.

The white eggs taste like egg yoke unless there’s an ant in there dead and tasty.

They have a lot of ants – about three different people have brought them back from the Village. It's ant egg season. My friend told me she’s glad I like them because we will be eating them for a while.

These are all frozen ants like the first time I saw them. Now in every freezer.

My post is for today's foodphotography @photocontest by @juliank. I’m using a Canon ELPH160 point and shoot camera.

Two years at goal fitinfun.jpg

worst poster I ever made.

The ants are packed nicely. They are not going to go bad. This is a different freezer with no ants. Please watch, like, share, and subscribe and you will be healthier for it!

Sort:  

The dish itself looks really good but I am not sure i would be able to bring myself to eat ant eggs... hehehe just a mental thing I guess @fitinfun :)

I'll try anything and this turned out to be good. Most bugs are not good so far as I have tried. They all give samples in the market. Maybe if you think caviar?

ok I hear you :) Well we will most likely be experimenting with all sorts of similar things when we head out to Thailand...

Are these ant eggs really so big? But I think I would give it a try

If you look at the post I linked about them when they are frozen, you can get the idea. I still have a post coming about how they get cooked. Maybe a few of those! I'm sure your would like them. Everyone seems to.

Look like I have overseen this link... Thanks for that. Guess they blow up because of water even more.

How sweet food

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 6.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.23
Server time: 09:25:50
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1226.64/1600.00
Total Photos: 169
Total comments: 125
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.36 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68236.06
ETH 3737.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64