When Eagle Spirit Makes Tomatillo Enchiladas ---> You Will Want Some!

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

If it's one thing I love then that is fresh homemade food. Granted most of us do not have a lot of time to make huge dinners, but what is great about this recipe is that it is very quick to make and nutritious. If you do not eat cheese then you can use a cheese substitute and that would be just as good.

The key ingredient is finding nice tomatillos that are fresh, a nice light green yet firm texture, and organic if that is possible. Maybe even home grown or from a farmer's market would be ideal.

Blue Wood.png

Created by @eaglespirit using Canva

Since I live near many Mexican markets these come in fairly fresh, but not as fresh as I would like. I take what I can get, because this sauce is much better than a can or jar. So, you first start out by shucking the husk and cleaning the tomatillos thoroughly.

unnamed-1.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

While they are soaking in a plastic bowl, heat up a pot of water and add 2 cloves of garlic. Like so ...

unnamed-2.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

Bring the pot to a boil and simmer for 10 minutes. It takes a little bit since the tomatillos are fresh, so be patient. Do not allow the tomatillos to explode, make sure to keep an eye on the boil/simmer or allow yourself to get distracted from this step. The final product counts on this part to come out just right.

unnamed-6.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

The color we are shooting for is the one above, now allow to cool a little bit and in the interim we are warming up some tortillas unless you have gone all out and have made them from scratch. You can use flour but GF is how I tend to cook, so I used corn tortillas. The tortilla must be easy to roll, so make sure its not overly warmed up.

unnamed-4.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

I used my cast iron pan for warming up tortillas since it gets a good overall heat to the pan and the tortilla doesn't stick to it.

unnamed-3.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

It's now time to chop up 2 to 3 Serrano or jalapeno peppers to taste, also 1/4 cup onion to add to the blending mix. It is also suggested to add 1 cup of cilantro, but I forgot it at the store. It tastes good either way.

unnamed-7.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

Add all ingredients into a blender and after the initial blending has taken placed then add 1 teaspoon of salt. Now it's time to stuff your enchiladas.

unnamed-5.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

You can use chicken, beef, but because I'm cutting down on meat I stuffed mine with Mexican cheese. This goes on top of the enchiladas in crumbles too. You can use any kind of cheese but this is the recommeneded cheese to use and one of my favorites.

unnamed-8.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

The way I was taught by my great grandmother and my grandmother was to dip and roll because you want it to be a little moist as you are rolling. So first put a little of the tomatillo sauce on the bottom of the pan. Add more as you roll, and this is how it should look after rolling.

After this step, you pour all the tomatillo sauce and bake in the oven for about 20 minutes.

unnamed-9.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

Make sure the tomatillo sauce looks baked in but not dried out or burnt. It may take you one or two times to get it, but it comes so do not get discouraged. Then drizzle this table cream on top, add some crumbled farm cheese to the top and 1/4 onion. Woila, you have just made Chile Verde Enchiladas!

unnamed-10.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

I always have a huge pot of beans ready to eat so I add this, a small side salad, and Mexican rice to the plating. I'll share my Mexican rice recipe in the future. For now, have a great evening my Steem Fam.

Yours,

QmXjtAmwcMN2UZUKqEHNNuFtbMT54MpWoTwgVvrSxsRSDc.png

Greetings,

Thank you for stopping by to read my blog. I’m a Certified Indian Blood member of the Hopi & Apache Native American tribes, Reiki Master-Teacher, Medicine woman in-training, paralegal, researcher, and writer based in the mountains of Colorado, USA. I work closely with fellow planktons and minnows in a few groups by helping them adjust to Steemit and curate quality content. I’m especially interested in finding others who love natural medicine originating from ancient practices, gold and silver, and energy work. Additionally, I'm the creator of #MedicineCardMonday and #FreedomFriday, so if you are interested in receiving Native American Medicine stop by my blog every Monday to say hello!

A'OO, Eagle Spirit

Sort:  

Love enchilada's . I may try that recipe. Cheese cheese cheese cheese cheese. I love cheese.

@blanchy yay! i hope you do its super easy. let me know if you do. :)

Yep. Count me in. Whenever you get ready to build that earthen home of yours just count me in and I'll shovel sand in bags all day if you'll feed me some of them.

@spozone hahaahha you crack me up! i'd be happy to cook for you and your baby girl. :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-20T23:12:54
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 876.81/1600.00
Total Photos: 126
Total comments: 68
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 4.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Just made some tomatillo salsa a few days ago

Awesome post
Eagle spirit

Posted using Partiko Android

@benfreed yay another tomatillo maker!! woot woot and thanks! :)
i wonder if we all do it the same? is that what you do too?

I will post some pics
Did it with green hatch peppers

Posted using Partiko Android

hah! i had a huge post on that, i grilled and made something with them not long ago. about to post on salsa rojo .. yum!

Posted pics

Posted using Partiko Android

heh? pics of what? i did green hatch already a huge post, even got on a radio show for them LOL

I was just posting pics to show you that I had made it also

So you knew I was legit

Posted using Partiko Android

oh i see hahaah hmmm thats funny

This is an excellent Mexican dish. When I lived in the United States, I met a Mexican family who invited me to dinner and one of the dishes we had at the table were enchiladas. Ummm! What a delight "" @wfuneme

@wfuneme yay, thanks. so glad you read my post and thank you. maybe you can try making it now too. :)

Congratulations @eaglespirit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

OMG so that's what those are... does anyone eat those raw? Bc we treated it like a tomato and tried to chop it up and make a salsa out of it (or something like that) and it was a little weird. Then again, my fault for not doing more research about them.

salsa would be great! id say blend it for a salsa verde or green dipping sauce, add a serrano or jalapeno for extra kick :)

Yay, thanks for the share! I have wanted to used tomatillos! Were these really spicy? 2-3 jalapenos, yikes. I think all I need are the tomatillos, I know what I'm making this weekend :) The cream really makes this rich, wow! Really yummy@eaglespirit!

wo hoo :)
let me know how it came out .. i have the pinapple wbut will prob only make a juice out of it hehe

tomatillos are not spicy ... the jalapenos or serranos are to taste ... 3 serranos aren't spicy to me or 3 jalapenos ... 1 habanero burns my face offfff :p

Hi @eaglespirit!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.932 which ranks you at #3803 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 3805).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 337 contributions, your post is ranked at #87.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.02
ETH 2553.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78