Ulog #10 | Food Model #9 | @ireenchew

in #foodmodel5 years ago (edited)

Last Friday, we had a get-together for a fellow colleague of ours who's leaving the organization after 7 months.

Being only 24 years old, she decided to roam the world and experience what it has got to offer first before really settling down on a permanant job. With a working-holiday visa in hand for New Zealand, she made the decision to see the world.

I guess this is how it is nowadays for the newly graduates. She obviously isn't the first nor will she be the last one to do so. Anyhow, since it's to a western country she will be for at least 12 months, we agreed that local cuisine is best as a farewell luncheon.

Banana Leaf Rice.. Of Yummy !!

A traditional method of serving rice dishes in South Indian. As travellers evolved and migrated, so did their cuisines. This is one of my favourite and I call this a CHEAT meal for the week.

Please don't ask me how many cheat meals have I had.

0xpw4stljk.jpg

We're served with white rice but I much prefer brown rice on a banana leaf with assortment of vegetables, pickles and other condiments (usually sour, salty or spicy). Here, I have is stir fried tauge, cucumber with yoghurt and deepfried bittergourd. No dish is complete without the gravy/sauces which varies from chicken, fish, seafood curry and of course the ever popular dhall. And of course, Papadam ! The round thin yellow crispy snack. I even ordered a deep fried drumstick to add on!

After I finished my sumptuous meal, I folded the banana leaf inwards as a sign of gratitude to those who have served me. This is a MUST practice in many banana leaf eateries!


This post is inspired by @iamjadeline for What is Your Foodmodel? Join her to see more fascinating and sumptuous cuisine from all over. You can enter the contest as well, just head on over to her post and find out how you can enter this simple and fun contest:

Foodmodel Week 8's Winners + Week 9 starts now


bad gif.gif

signature_2.gif

Sort:  

That looks very tasty, I'm drooling

It is actually delicious and addictive too. The outlet is within the same building as my office...
So imagine how I feel everyday 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

jajajaja es casi imposible no perder esa batalla

Wow I am super jealous of your co-worker! What an amazing opportunity. Great looking goodbye feast though!

All in the spirit of farewell and hopefully once she has enough of western food she'll realized that it's way much better back home.
Then I can re hire her back again 😃

Posted using Partiko Android

Yummy, looks delicious!

Oh yes it is indeed ...
I'm thankful we've got it's of different cuisines here.
When I was pregnant with my eldest son, I crave for banana leaf rice every week.
Imagine a pregnant women sitting down in the shop eating alone but smiling.
"Stay Away!!! Mommy To Be is here 🤣"

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has received a 5.00% upvote from Big Chuck Bot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16