Lettuce Give, Barter And Trade To Create A New World ~ Another Food Is Free Success Story

in #foodisfree7 years ago (edited)

IMG_7789.JPG

We just had a lovely lady drop by, she lives in the next community and was offering for us to come to her house and dig up some of her grape vines, as well as take all this spare lumber and iron that she has no use for!

As we got to talking, she also offered to come over and watch our children any time my husband and I needed a break. She's a recent empty nester, and single, and is really missing the joy of kids now that she's been on her own for the last 2 years.

I really cannot wait to go up to her place and get to know her better! The generosity that we are shown, all the time, by complete "strangers" (I put it in quotations because strangers are really just friends we haven't gotten to know yet) continues to blow me away.

Just by us extending trust, and a few vegetables, we have made so many connections now over the last 3 years, sowing the seeds of giving and selflessness in our community.

The summer is my favourite time of year, and I'm already getting meloncholy thinking about the end. We have to find ways to continue to form these new realtionships in the winter. We would love to be able to help the seniors in our area, remove snow, we have to figure out how to make this happen this year, because giving brings us so much joy, and so does receiving, whether it be a smile, a kind word, or FREE WOOD! Wow...

Of course I couldn't let her go without receiving some produce. She said she doesn't eat much but she took me up on some nice fresh lettuces. We don't have many eggs here right now, but she told me she really does love eggs, and buns, so when we go over to her place I'll be PACKIN'!!

How cool would it be to get to know each other, and to have her come here and watch the boys one day so that Brendan and I can have a little date. It's been so long...

For anyone new to my blog, this is the sign we have out by the road which brings so many neighbours by!

Sort:  

This is awesome. Making friends by giving away extra produce. Too bad the rest of the world doesn't do something similar. Perhaps if they did we wouldn't be in the mess we are in now...

Yea, all we can do is try in our own little corners of the world...and hope it catches on. The internet is definitely a big help because now we can all see what each other are doing on the different parts of the planet and be inspired, and also know we're not alone!

My first time on Steemit in like 3 days...just went through and read all the food is free projects! This is awesome,and the lady sounds super nice:)

Aw, that's quite the break from Steemit, I'm assuming you've been real busy with your move etc? Yeah, she was a real doll hey?!! Thanks for reading Dillon :)

IT kinda sucks but has been well worth it and for good reason, but yes the move...and everything lol you are welcome! And she sounds like a really nice person...especially from another community:)

Isn't life grand! I mean it. Where else can you feel like you are a real member of a community. It takes so little to give someone a gift of food or a supportive smile. Thanks for a great post. 🐓🐓

Thank you so much for sharing in our joy @mother2chicks! :) :) :)

Ditto! Take care. 🐓🐓

That is so cool to see how food and homesteading can bring people and even neighbors together in new and unique ways. You guys so deserve some time to yourselves, so having that as a potential option is so awesome, too!

Thank you so much Jessa :) Yes, strong communities will make gov't (police etc), corporations and eventually money, obscelete!

You two really deserve a good date night after everything you do for the kids and neighbors! Make it happen, enjoy the moment, and don't worry about blogging about it!

HAHAHA!! Right on, thank you Winston :) :) <3 <3 <3 <3

It's a wonderful project you have going there. I hope you get that date time. I'm all about investing in our marriages to keep them growing stronger each year.

Thank you so much for reading about the project, and yes, you are so right, marraige does take constant tending, and we definitely need to get some quality time together sometime soon!

Wow...not bad...fresh vegetables ...
I reckon you a excellent gardener...

I'm only in my 3rd year and have a lot to learn still, yet with passion, anything is possible!

No worries about learning ..cause i see you really good already..and we learn from mistakes that will make us go further or break down..Keep it up..I see you have chicken also...nice..you can make salted egg with chicken eggs also..Maybe ill do a post about my duck/salted duck eggs..How i almost give up cause the problem wont stop coming aye...hahah..
All the best to you..and i followed you..maybe i learn something diifrent from you aye...cheers

Right on, I will like to see your recipe for salted eggs!

This makes me so happy!! Thank you for sharing!! @lyndsaybowes <3

And thank you so much for reading :) xo

I like eating lettuces..

That's good :)

Nice to have fresh salad in the garden. Lucky you. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59996.99
ETH 2531.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48