An Amazing Day For The "Food Is Free Project" I'm So Happy To Share This News

in #foodisfree7 years ago

We were filmed for a TV series called "Transition Garden" today and also had success with our Food Is Free stand.

All in all I couldn't ask for a better day! Giving away free food, or as my kids would say "having customers", just makes life so exciting and bright.

Nothing fills me up more than giving to others, knowing we are helping them be nourished, seeing the happiness on their faces, and being able to tell them about the Food Is Free Project and the Grow Food Not Lawns movement.

The TV production staff were coming over to our place for 9:00 AM, so my best garden helper Kiedis and I got to work early, setting up our Food Is Free sign and bringing out the goodies we have available for free every day.

IMG_7846.JPG

IMG_7849.JPG
Today we started with a couple huge zucchini.

IMG_7862.JPG
Later in the afternoon we had more produce to add to the little table.

Being filmed for a new TV series

Me being the fly by the seat of my pants person that I am, had no clue what to expect for this. I said yes to doing the show a couple weeks ago, yet I didn't ask many questions. I didn't know if they were going to just be filming the gardens, or if I was going to be in it.

Well...within a couple minutes of them being here, I had a microphone taped to me and one of those little black boxes clipped to my pants, so I had my answer LOL! Okay...let the nerves begin...

IMG_7852.JPG
Meet Everett, the cameraman. While everyone was getting ready he went across the highway to get some wide angle shots of the front lawn vegetable gardens.

IMG_7853.JPG
And Art, the sound man, he could hear me through those headphones no matter where I went (and I dared not go to the washroom LOL) now that I was all hooked up...

The series is being produced by Don Duchene of Nexus Media Inc. and the main idea behind it, is TRANSITIONING from our current economy, to a new one, one of sharing, giving, gifting and bartering. A new way of living, sustainably, symbiotically, cooperatively and self-sufficiently.

The whole process lasted about 3 hours. First they interviewed me in our large greenhouse for about 20 minutes, then we went down by the ocean for about another 15.

We talked extensively about the Food Is Free movement and how it could really free humanity from the bondage of fiat currency. To cut out the middle man (corporations) and to provide for our communities and help each other.

We Must Help Each Other.jpg

This art always comes to mind.

I was pretty nervous, yet I don't think it showed. I'm not used to being bombarded with questions, I usually vlog, so it's just me talking into a camera, not me being asked things and then responding to a camera. I believe I represented the movement and our goals well, and I trust they will edit it beautifully, as unlike the mainstream media, their goals, and visions for the world are aligned with mine.

We had some amazing conversations and I'm just thrilled to meet up with them again one day in the future. They are going to connect me with some of the other local gardeners they have been working with. I'm super stoked to meet more like minds! People who are not only dreaming, but doing!

Next was the fun part, and the long part...

I got to take them on a huge tour of all our lawns vegetable gardens. My 7 year old son Kiedis joined me for this part and I couldn't have been more thrilled. He showed them all around.

We picked vegetables, showed them all the seeds we will be saving, collected eggs, and of course hung out with the chicks and chickens for a good amount of time. Kiedis was so wonderful I'm sure watching it is going to melt people's hearts. It constantly amazes me how much he knows about gardens and gardening.

It was a pretty unique experience doing take after take. Getting the right shots from the right angles. Kiedis thought it was pretty cool that he got to Act. "Ok Kiedis, now, can you put the zucchini back and pretend to pick it again?" as they changed angles. "Alright, good, now put the corn back on the stalk and pretend to pick it again", and so on and so forth.

Kiedis and I picked a lot of veggies and even dug potatoes. I'm not joking when I say my son is the best gardening helper that I could ever ask for, and the most enthusiastic.

IMG_7856.JPG
Saying goodbye, and what amazing folks they are! They left just after 12 noon and were off to get a bite to eat before they went to their next garden to film.

I will know in a few weeks when our episode of "Transition Garden" will air.

Now for the other part of our exciting day, giving away a lot of free food!

It actually started while the crew was here filming. During the greenhouse interview we could hear some voices outside, at first I thought it was my eldest son, but when I went out to see what was going on, it was a couple, and the gentleman had one of our huge zucchinis in his arms. They wanted to get some lettuce too!

I explained that we were just a little tied up at the moment, I couldn't cut them any, and then they were shocked to see the camera and mic in the greenhouse. Many smiles!! They are coming back tomorrow to get the lettuce, I can't wait to see them again.

Later in the afternoon...

IMG_7865.JPG
My husband alerts me that he can see some people on bicycles out front looking at the Food Is Free produce and sign. Me being the awkward person I am, took a photo of them through my window before going out to see what I could give them.

It turns out it was a couple from Spain, who had biked all the way to Nova Scotia from Montreal, and get this, with their two little children towed behind in one of those fancy rigs. What an adventurous family! Nothing but respect for them, and their endurance.

We ended up gifting them potatoes, zucchini, and a couple heads of lettuce. It makes me so happy that we helped nurtue these folks with pure foods on their long bike ride across Canada.

They didn't know about the project yet, so I informed them it was world wide, and they told me they garden back home in Spain, and so often they have too much food, and guess what...? They are going to be setting up their own free food stand the next time they have an abundance of produce!

Lastly, and this is more of a trade story than a free food story, yet I still want to say that my Mom-In-Law brought me over 2 big bags of clothing (she has fine taste in clothes and I HATE to shop) and I sent her home with a dozen eggs, a few heads of lettuce, potatoes, zucchinis and tomato.

This was definitely one of the best days of my Summer so far, I live to give and my need to contribute was met many times over.

13731077_10153624345696791_6454525960351432422_o.jpg

One last thing before I say goodbye, @foodisfree joined Steemit last month, so be sure to give the founder of this amazing movement, John, a follow!

Sort:  

Epic! I hope to see the video soon! It will surely inspire many new front yard community gardens!

<3 <3 <3 And thank YOU for sparking this worldwide movement John!

Sounds like you had a superb day.

This really has inspired me. I had been giving our extra eggs to any friends or neighbours who happened to come by. But our happy hens are still churning out the eggs and we still have surplus.

So now I'm going to follow your lead and put a sign up offering the extra eggs for free. Possibly also the rhubarb and courgettes (zucchinis) we have surplus at the moment.

I hope our neighbours who sell their eggs won't be upset 😶

Oooh YAY!!! So many happy dances!! I love this, and if you do feel like it, please take a photo of your #FoodIsFree stand so we can put it on the website/social media pages, to inspire even more people to GIVE <3 !

What an amazing day you all had. You have made some major accomplishments of late. Congrats for all of your hard work starting to pay off. Your friend. 🐓🐓

Thank you so much @mother2chicks! Big hugs, and little pecks from our Brood over here and especially your GodChick Don King!

I love this food is free Project! Awesome that you got to be on a show, you should record it and put a clip on YouTube so we can see it!

Oooh yes for sure! We'll put it up on #DTube :) :) :)

I love what you're doing and ita fantastic that you have the opportunity to spreed the word around

Thanks very much for the support and I hope one day you can join us <3 <3

What a fulfilling day!
Unless I missed it, where and when will this be available to watch? I really want to see it!

Thanks Dawne, I will find out in a few weeks when it will be aired <3

I'm so glad this was a success. Such fun for your son and such satisfaction from getting your hard work recognized!

Will the video be made available for us foreigners to watch on the internet?

Thank you Winston! I believe it will be, but I will definitely know more in a few weeks time <3 <3 <3

I'm glad it went well.

It's nice to see attention being given to someone making this a better world instead of the ones trying to make it worse.

Congratulations on a job well done! You're getting the word out there and that is important. Yor son is getting all his education about gardening from you. He sees your enthusiasm and it's infectious. Kids are like little sponges. They soak up everything, including stuff you wished they wouldn't. LOL

Thank you for the big thumb's up @cecicastor! It definitely feels good to be raising the next generation in this way, getting back to the roots <3 <3

I love your bubbling over enthusiasm! Well done!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86