The Second Recipe

in #foodieyamcurry3 years ago

I personally do not fancy yam as a food , but I have a family and it turns out my siblings do not have the same taste as me .
In my home we do not learn how to cook what we feel like but we learn how to cook what our mum wants us to learn how to cook.
So I learnt how to prepare a meal out of one of my worst dishes or foods ever.
Today , I'll be sharing a recipe for preparing yam Curry. Yes,yes I know. Yam and curry do not belong in the same sentence right? Wrong.
A trial at this recipe will leave you happy with the fact that you came across my blog 😉

To prepare the yam; cut the yam into slices, peel off the skin; then wash. You must be careful not get raw yam on the skin because the yam peels can cause itching.

  1. 2 tablespoons Oil
    2.1 Onion chopped
    3.3 cloves Garlic chopped
    4.1 teaspoon Garam masala
    5.1 teaspoon Ground coriander
    6.½ teaspoon Ground ginger
    7.½ teaspoon Chilli flakes
    8.3 Slices Yam from medium sized tuber
    9.1 can Chickpea drained and rinsed
    10.1 can Chopped tomatoes
    11.2 cups Water
    12.Salt to taste
  2. 1 cup Spinch

Carefully use a knife to cut the yam slices, and remove the skin. Wash and cut into cubes.
Heat up the oil in a pan.
Add the onions and allow to cook until it becomes translucent.
Add the garlic and allow to cook for 30 seconds.
Pour in the garam masala, coriander, ginger and chilli.
Allow to cook for 1 minute, while stirring continuously.
Pour in the yam and chickpeas, while still stirring.
Add the chopped tomatoes followed by water and salt.
Stir the content of the pan, cover with a lid and allow to cook for 15 mins.
Stir in the spinach and remove from heat.

Serve hot with your favorite drink or better still, a bottle of water. Please comment and upvote. Stay happy and healthy 😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51