Make Better Ramen

in #foodies4 years ago

Everyone loves their ramen now. Mine started as a bastardized version of the cheapest meal that could be done with $2. Mom was annoyed with the kids spilling the soup, so it was literally seasoned noodles. That was it. But now, I taste the broth first, pulling all the layers of the boiled flavors. I add my own favorite toppings and spices, talk of the elasticity of the noodles and the crunch of the fresh veggies.

If you're blessed with a ramen shop nearby, bless them with your patronage. Taste the broth first, take time with all the variety and really cherish those noodles, all much fresher than what most can get their hands on.
20191125_135643.jpg

We're all just trying to imitate this beauty. This was a vegetarian special at Ramen Musashi in Shinjuku, Tokyo. It even had walnuts! The broth was thick, not the usual thin, plain miso flavor vegetarians get most times. There was even a lightly battered kabucha squash in there. Amazing with a bit of beer.

But if you're not going down to your local ramen shop, might I suggest a few additions to your next noodle soup.

20200423_162703.jpg

A little sesame oil tricked me into thinking these dried noodles were fresher than they were. You need some greens, bok choy or ga lan are best, but spinach can do too. Seaweed and vegetarian duck adds some filling and and chew to it all.

20191125_140236.jpg

But what you really need is a soft-boiled egg. Make sure the broth is super hot, that way when you break open the egg, the inside still gets a bit cooked by the broth. My husband even put some pork slices in his ramen. Super legit there.

Good luck on your next ramen fix. Have an extra side in there for me!

Sort:  

Nice! I like ramen too. I especially like the tonkatsu/pork and fish broth ramen.

My husband love tonkatsu. Oh, I forgot! Fish balls add another amazing layer too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66750.09
ETH 3474.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80