Food Review: Suman

in #foodie3 years ago

image.png
Ready for some native suman from the Philippines? I bet you are. A suman usually is a sticky bar wrapped in banana leaves or other similar wraps. Could be sweet or savory which can also be compared to a tamales. Earlier this evening I received these freshly cooked suman. I thought they were the usual suman that I know. It was my first time to eat this kind of suman and I forgot to ask what their name is. Before I tell you how they taste like. Let me appreciate how beautiful they were wrapped in these banana leaves. I love the feel of the banana leaves on my hands as I untie the little threads on both ends. Such a smooth and papery feel. That is not how the usual banana leaves feel on my hands. Maybe these were dried a bit on fire to give it that papery texture. So rich and luxurious.
image.png
When I opened the first pack this is what showed up. White and chocolate brown stripes. I never saw a traditional suman like this. Is this something new? Makes me wonder what the brown stuff is made out of. The white stripe is glutinous rice I am sure so I had my first taste. It is easy to chew. I love the texture. Most sumans I know are sticky and some are rubbery but this one is surprisingly easy to chew despite its sticky look so that is a big plus I must say. Now time to comment on the taste. It is not overwhelmingly sweet or creamy or oily. Everything seems balanced and just right. Normally I would pass after a bite or two because of too much sweetness but this one is just right and made me finish it all. I love the moderate sweetness, nothing sticky and nothing overly flavored. I still am debating whether the brown stuff is cocoa or brown bean paste. I could not tell. In general this is delicious.

image.png
A perfect pair for my coffee. A nice snack that I can consider for my evening or late night snack. I love it.

Sort:  

Hello steempampanga!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00