One Giant Step in Squash Technology

in #foodfightfriday6 years ago (edited)

20180822_190143~2.jpg

Summer squash: so delicious and abundant! Everyone who grows it will at some point rack their brain for novel ways to dish it up. As I rummaged in the pantry with that idea in mind, I spotted the ingredients for a traditional green bean casserole. Lightning bolt moment!

20180822_154021~2.jpg

I realized that if I slice my tender young straightnecks into matchsticks, they would be a perfect substitute for the green beans!

20180824_080153-ANIMATION.gif

I sauteed the squash with some garlic, onion, orange bell pepper, and finally a bit of fresh spinach.

Then I layered the vegetables with cream of mushroom soup, crispy onion rings, and a sprinkle of shredded cheese. About 40 minutes at 400F later, voila! A tender, crispy, and creamy squash casserole emerged.

Meanwhile, some pork chops soaked up their orange juice and soy sauce marinade. @mattlovell popped them into a smoking hot pan, then finished them off in the 400F oven.

20180822_183640~2.jpg

Within 10 minutes, the pork chops were ready, their juices sealed inside the sear.

20180822_185908~2.jpg

A bit of nice jasmin rice finishes off the plate. Dinner is served!

20180822_190207~2.jpg

Happy #FoodFightFriday!

Love,cat
@creationofcare

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

WHAT THE?!?? Dang!!! I got snot on my phone trying to sniff that aroma.
AAAAHHHHH

Why don't you check on #fff entrees using your SMELL PHONE? Whomp whomp! Heheh, and thank you!

One day my friend....on day
Send delicious smells through the phone.
Grandma’s Apple pie, drifting in the air as you drift off to bed. Ha ha ha

Okay, number 1, those plates are really cool. Number 2, you are a kitchen wizard, what a great idea for squash. Green bean casserole is always delicious that any rendition to dress it up is welcomed at my house. Good job @creationofcare 👏.

Thank you, @puravidaville! You are also one heckuva culinary wizard! So happy that my greenbeanless casserole tickles your fancy :)

Did you cook that on Wednesday? I think I smelt it.

Haha! Yes I did, in fact! Your olfactory sense is extraordinary! 🤣

Awesome idea for the casserole substituting squash for beans. I like both, so I may have to see what I can do. I don't have as much summer squash as I have zucchini. Do you think that would work, too?

Pork chops look awesome, especially with the marinade, and the rice looks good too, but I think I would have just gone for more casserole!

Great looking as always. We really need to figure out a way we can taste all of this. :)

Yes! Zucchini is, I believe, a member of the class summer squash. Shoestring it and call it green beans. I won't tell if you won't!

wow seems so delicious.

Thanks, @raksha! It was very tasty and pretty simple to put together. Cheers!

Sorry alls i seen was the wine lol jk. Holy moly im writing this one down as well! Looks delicious! I didnt know about orange juice and soy 😲

Yay! Glad to share this advancement in squashology with all earthlings!

Oh yes, orange juice and soy really dresses up that delicate pork flavor. I also threw in some garlic, a splash of the Chardonnay, and a dash of fish sauce. Enjoy!

Yeah that squash was brilliant!!!

How many do you get from harvest? How often do they produce?

Here is the squash vine after radical surgery and a heavy dose of Neem oil20180824_123424~2.jpg

You know... i have a green thumb running through my veins from my family & i know very very little accept marijuana and tomatoes lol. One vine! Dang! Beautiful. Its like im a deer in the headlights w starting anything : (. That is amazing and keep up the good work/fun/chef :).

Ps have you made any other creations/art recently?

I can understand the overwhelm. I still have a section left to sift out grass roots, and i dont wanna! Lol. (But today the almanac says is the last day for me to get my fall garden in, so up and at em.)

Start small and manageable, maybe one raised bed. One squash vine will hog up half a bed. They like for you to make a 3 foot diameter volcano and plant them in the crater. I know you can do it!

I have been super busy doing chores and can't wait to get back in the studio and make art again.

Much love!

I wish I had kept track of all of the squash I pulled from just one plant! It makes about one or two a day at peak. The aphid farming ants got at it, though, or it would still be pumping them out. I still have three big ones in the crisper!

.....And love those lightning bolt moments :D

What a great sub for green beans! Brilliant and nomnomnom.

Thanks! All credit goes to the lightning bolt ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67557.12
ETH 3500.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70