#whatscookingchallenge and #foodboasting: My Son's Birthday Cake (Chocolate Brownie Cake)!

in #foodboasting6 years ago (edited)

Hi, it's been a long while since I last participated in #Whatscookingchallenge by @jaynie! I am so sorry for missing in action. Here's my take on the simplest brownie cake on earth! Hahaha, maybe that's a bit exaggerating but yes most importantly, it is fail-proof! I even consulted an online chef baker who is my dear friend on the steps because I CANNOT fail MY SON'S birthday cake!!!

The recipe is of course Rachel Ray's [Basic Brownie](https://www.rachaelraymag.com/recipe/the-best-basic-brownies) which my friend sent to me, with the most minimal ingredients. We added some banana slices and chocolate chips into the mixture.


I took opportunity to involve my son who was turning 3 years old in making the batter. I bought a little apron for him to get him excited and anticipating the baking day. I measured the ingredients in cups and he poured them in. Then, he whisked them up. He knew he was baking his own cake, when I asked him. We had so much fun!

The cake turned out to be a little dry, though I really was watching it closely. So, my online baking teacher friend taught me to make a chocolate glaze for it.

Finally, we decorated it with my boy's current favorites, the Pokemon characters that he likes: Sudowoodoo, Jigglypuff and also Ivysaur, besides some berries to give some colours to the cake. I was quite satisfied with how it tastes: not too sweet and just nice with the chocolate glaze. @zord189 made a post featuring it [here](https://steemit.com/community/@zord189/teammalaysiameetingheartscallycelebratingabirthday-1mje6rwrta).

Okay, now the recipe on how we made it!


Ingredients


For the cake:


I improvised my ingredients from Rachel's by cutting down the suggested amount of sugar:

1 1/4 cups sugar 170g melted unsalted butter 1/2 teaspoon salt 3 eggs 1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder 1 cup cake flour 2 bananas cut into slices 1 cup of chocolate chips
1. Preheat oven at 180 degree Celsius.
  1. Grease the baking pan. I did not have cooking spray and sometimes butter doesn't grease my pan well, so I tried with cooking oil. It came out perfect.

  2. Add in the sugar, melted butter and also the salt, whisk them up.

  3. Add in the eggs one by one. Whisk them evenly before adding in the next.

  4. Add in the cocoa powder, chocolate chips, sliced bananas and cake flour. Whisk till the batter are mixed thoroughly.

  5. Pour the batter into the baking pan and we are ready to bake for 25-30 minutes. Make sure you keep checking. Poke a toothpick in to see if the batter is still sticky. If it is, you may bake it just a while more with a close watch.

    Tadaaaaaa!




     

Here are some photos of a little baker at work.




@littledrummerboy did it! He mixed his own birthday cake with me!



Happy with the outcome! 👍

Now for the glaze:

100ml whipped cream
100g dark chocolate chips
  1. Bring the whipped cream to simmer on low fire. Be careful not to burn it.

  2. Prepare the chocolate chips in a medium bowl.

  3. Pour the medium warm cream over the chocolate chips to melt them. Whisk the mixture evenly.

  4. Pour the mixture over a sieve to get a smooth glaze.


Only drizzle the glaze on the cake after both the cake and glaze are cooled to room temperature. My friend advised me to not fridge the brownie cake so it doesn't harden.

Last but not least, a selfie with our finished product together as a mother-son team! We had so much fun!


I wish the deco was more "elegant" but I guess this will just do for a first try. 😜

I am tagging 3 friends for @jaynie's #whatscooking challenge: @josephinengpy, @iamjadeline and @kaerpediem. All the best and have fun!

I would also like to submit this post for @karenmckersie's #foodboasting contest. You may find the link to the post here! My photos are all taken by my cell phone, a Vivo V5s.

Thank you for reading this post of my baking experiment. I don't usually succeed at baking all the time so this definitely something for me to rejoice about! This is also my first time posting via @steempress after I subscribed to @vornix. So, here's also a shout-out to them for doing an awesome job with these plugins!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://happycrazycon.vornix.blog/2018/07/01/whatscookingchallenge-and-foodboasting-my-sons-birthday-cake-chocolate-brownie-cake/

Sort:  

Mmmmm ! it really looks delicious @happycrazycon ! thanks for sharing in my #foodboasting tag!You are welcome to use the Tag for sharing food photos only with no recipes as a lot of photos here are from restaurants as well, its just about Food Boasting! Hope you decide to enter my Contest this week ! Please read the rules over then enter,thanks!😋😋😋😋😋😋

Sorry for missing out some of the rules. I will try to take note more of that the next round. Thanks @karenmckersie :) Do you allow post using steepshot?

Just need to read the rules as in all contests so its fair for all people. As long as foodboasting is the first tag and all the rules are followed!you are allwoed 3 entries per week! All you need to do is look at last weeks winners and see how they did it!😋✌👍

Happy Birthday to the handsome chef 🎉🎉🎉
And I think he cooks/bakes better than me hahaha
I have escaped this challenge a couple of times
Ok 3rd time must do right 😅
Thank you? 🤣

Such a cute cake! He also looks really happy for being able to participate in the baking process, happy birthday to the birthday boy! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67100.18
ETH 2610.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67