You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Food Bank

in #foodbank5 years ago

Kudos to the person who dropped in the sanitary towels, they ought to be on the list of necessities.

Freecycling used to be an expanding movement 10 years ago but not sure it is now when things like FB marketplace mean people can sell things easily, sell things they might once have thrown out. I also think council recycling centres could do more to allow people to take stuff that others wish to dump, there is some great stuff gets chucked .

From your other post, you hit a very important point about the advantages of minimalising. There have recently been a number of articles I've read recently in opposition to the decluttering argument but none touched on the advantages of reducing our material impact by reducing consumption of goods.

Lovely post as always and thanks for 'serried'......I will attempt to use it soon :-)

PS Pukka Pies are available here in a few very upmarket supermarkets starting around £4 a pie! No..I draw the line at my £3 a bottle HP!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I'm in two minds about minimalising, I think it's mainly (middle class) hipster bandwagon nonsense; on the other hand, stopping buying so much churned out rubbish is a good thing :)

Well, I prefer 'decluttering' and for me its been very good for the soul since I started many years ago! Then again, my style and tastes have always been simple. Clutter, mess and stuff stress me, and simplicity keeps me from being stressed.
Things lose their value when they become trendy and have buzzwords attached!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58884.60
ETH 2504.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45