Brown Rice & Red Lentils with Onions, Cashews, and Saurkraut

in #food8 years ago

Easy, Nutritious, and Delicious... How to make this vegan dish the Taiwanese way (without burning)

My vegan friend makes this dish all the time at her house, but she just uses a regular pot on the stove and keeps an eye on it. When she was visiting me, she put it on the stove and asked if I would keep an eye on it.            "Sure, no problem!"            Ooops... I managed to let it burn. :/

I love my Tatung cooker.... everyone should have one!


A few days later, I figured I'd try making it again, but I wanted to make sure I didn't burn it.

So out comes my trusty Taiwanese 10-cup Tatung Multi-Functional Rice Cooker.
https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_2?url=search-alias%3Dkitchen&field-keywords=Tatung+tac-10
     

The Tatung rice cooker is unique in that you add water to BOTH the INNER and OUTER pots.


(WARNING: This video shows a lot of meat in it, so VEGANS & VEGETARIANS will want to skip it)

Trial and error


I made this a couple of times to figure out the right amount of water for the inner and outer pots. If you don't have enough water in the outer pot, the cooker will shut off too early. (That's what happened on my first try, so I had to add more water to the inner pot and cook it for longer.)

When my friend made this, she was not too specific about the quantities (just poured and eyeballed it). I'm not a natural cook, so I did my best to measure so it can be easily repeated and adjusted. I love my kitchen scale.

So here's what you need to do to get it right the FIRST time:

Put 4 oz. BROWN RICE and 4 oz. RED LENTILS in a strainer and rinse

Move rinsed rice and lentils to the stainless steel INNER pot.
Add 4 oz. chopped WHITE ONION and 2 oz. CASHEWS

Add 12 oz. water to the OUTER pot, and 12 oz. water to the INNER pot, and then place the inner pot into the outer pot.

Place the lid on top and press the switch down to start cooking.
(The rice cooker has a keep warm function you can ignore.)

The cooker will stop automatically when the water from the outer pot has steamed away (approx 45 minutes), but I like to let it sit a bit longer after that, so you can just check back in a hour and it should be ready. This is nice because I don't have to keep an eye on that stove!

After the hour is up, carefully remove the lid (avoiding steam), and stir!

Then serve with KRAUT on top!
I like FARMHOUSE CULTURE GARLIC DILL PICKLE KRAUT

Simple and delicious. And most importantly, not burned! :)

Serves 2-4 people depending on how hungry they are.

Related video:

How to clean your Tatung rice cooker:

Sort:  

At home I use my Instant Pot! (electric pressure cooker)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00