Pizza Pakoras?

in #food5 years ago (edited)

I have been know to whip up a mean wheel or even panzerotti (kids call them pizza logs) from scratch. It is a fun way to get everyone involved in the preparation, getting their own ingredients chopped up from whole foods, and have it taste as good as junk food.

Tonight, the dough was a certain shape and the pizza logs ended up being more triangle shaped. Being a fan of the alliteration, I think I will call these Pizza Pakoras!

Beside the pepperoni, bacon and cheese, don’t they look like those awesome Indian appetizers?

Posted using Partiko iOS

zekepickleman.jpg

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgnAudsvw6WDTpHnJA.png

PHC-Footer-05.gif

What are you having for supper that is different?

Sort:  

These remind me of pepperoni rolls, which I crave sometimes. They're really easy to make also. Yummy, just like your pizza logs!

Pepperoni Rolls sound like something I should know about.

Maybe you could post your recipe and tag me?

Sure, @zekepickleman! it's really simple, you use a pizza or bread dough. I get pizza dough from Publix in their deli section rather than making it myself. What you do, is take about 3 slices of pepperoni or so, put some cheese on top of those and then another 3 or so slices of pepperoni on top of that, like a little pepperoni cheese sandwich.

Tear off a piece of dough, stretch it out a bit, (no need to roll), put the little pepperoni sandwich in the middle and pinch to seal it in. Make sure the bottom is completely sealed, or the cheese will melt out. Then bake them at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes or so. They're great!

well that looks like it was certainly good

It was so good. The best part was the garden grown fermented jalapenos I added before sealing it up. Damn good.

This looks like a pizza pocket. Glad you went homemade instead of just buying the frozen ones.

The most different thing I had for ma meal recently was some battered and deep fried ginseng.

How did it taste?

Ginseng to me is like an additive and not a meal. I am curious now as to how its is served!

Mostly it is served in beverages or soups. However, I did try some jellied ginseng and some deep-fried ginseng. It all tastes like ginseng, but the steamed stuff which turns red is a little different.
If you don't like ginseng, you probably won't like any of it. I like the weird medicine taste, but I've been drinking black coffees and straight liqueurs for a while and enjoy strong flavors.

That looks delicious. Do you make your own pizza dough or buy premade uncooked dough - I know some grocery stores sell it but it can be hard to find

Posted using Partiko Android

I used to make my own dough in the bread maker but a couple bucks for some fresh dough in a bag saved so much time. White people short cuts I guess.

Yummy! Tasty! I'd take a bite.

You would be pleased! Thanks for stopping by and sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78