Tips for cooks who prepare their own pizzas!

in #food7 years ago

Hey Steemheads, you probably already make a great pizza, but I have a couple tips you can experiment with! I grew up in a little city called Windsor, the pizza capital of the world! Windsor takes on a very distinct style of pizza, and because I was lucky enough to work in a few pizzerias growing up, I learned a lot of trade practices!

This blog post is going to be lean and to the point. I assume you already have the basics down, I only want to share potentially new information! I'll outline common mistakes I've made over the years I both do myself and see others doing.

#1 - Proof your dough in dough balls, not all together at once! If you are struggling to make your pizza round, it's likely because you didn't start with a dough ball, but something oblong shaped from cutting a giant dough ball in half! The slower you proof your dough, the more complex the flavour profile. Cold fermentation has advantages over warm, but I honestly do both depending on the situation.

#2 - Do not buy prepacked 'pizza' toppings. Go to a deli, ask for some spicy salami or sausage. These are both cheaper and superior quality to packaged pepperoni.

#3 - Factor in how wet your toppings are. Mushrooms, pineapple, and tomato have a lot of water content and slow the cooking phase. If the oven isn't hot enough, the water will soak into the dough instead of evaporating. Consider using less sauce, and less wet toppings. Less is more when it comes to pizza.

#4 - Oven temp should be as high as possible or safe. I have made stellar pizza in a generic electric oven many times, don't blame the tools! Add corn meal to the pizza pan underneath the dough to help crisp it up and prevent it from sticking.

#4 - Timers do not work with pizza. Toppings create variables in cooking time. The only way to know if a pizza is done is to thoroughly observe the colour on the bottom of the crust. Sit in front of your oven and pretend it is a TV, because a perfectly cooked pizza is a small window of time!

#5 - Pizza is more than sauce, cheese, and meat. Consider crushed fennel seed, fresh chiffonade basil (once out of the oven), homemade pizza sauce, and fresh garlic! You wouldn't believe how many spices and ingredients you already have that can enhance a basic pizza!

Pizza is difficult to make perfectly, it takes a lot of focus and control over the variables. I am often not satisfied with one of my pizzas, I am always critical and find that I typically sabotage myself by rushing. Enjoy these pictures!



Sort:  

Amazing post that definitely made me hungry. :) Thank you very much for all the tipsand information, as a beginner cook I am trying to find confidence of making my own pizza one day. Steem on!

it's all in the wrist, friend!

The more you work with dough, the more you understand the different personalities it will take on. If the room is humid for example, the dough will be sticky. You eventually build confidence working with dough, and you can throw the dough into the air and stretch it like a pro with enough persistence after a while.

Thank you very much for the motivation my friend :) definitwly following you for more dough throws hehe have a great day!

I want to eat pizza, but I still have no money. Again wait for steemit gan. Hopefully soon can withdraw money, amen

May this upvote take you one step closer to pizza in your mouth!

Seriously though!!!

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!
Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!
You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.
Let me know if you have any questions regarding the project or nomination. Hope to hear from you soon!

Fine by me, I've given you and OCD a Follow as an token of my appreciation.

Wow! That looks delicious :) my girlfriend and I were literally just talking about making our own pizza! And now we have delicious recipe!!! Thank you for sharing

You should immediately make it right now, so that your girlfriend does not cry. Hehehe @vanday

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62716.82
ETH 2447.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65