The Dangers of Soft Drinks

in #food7 years ago

 

There was a point in my life where I was totally in love with soft drinks. My love for these products completely diminished when I got to know about the dangers of them. Lots of people consume soft drinks all around the world cause it's cheap and tastes good too. However, it is important that we know the background of some certain products we consume everyday before making them part and parcel of our diet because not all that glitters is gold. 

The world health organization (WHO)  recommends consuming no more than 6 teaspoons of added sugar daily. There are approximately 10 teaspoons of added sugar in a single can of an average soft drink. This means that drinking just one can of soda a day would mean we have consumed over 40%+100% of the recommended sugar intake. 


People who drink 1-2 cans of these sugary beverages are 26% more likely to develop type 2 diabetes and a study last month reported that 184,000 global deaths each year are caused by soft drinks consumption. 


Leaving the statistics behind and coming down to our everyday life, most of us know someone that has diabetes. It is a killer that lies in the bottles and cans of these dangerous drinks. Regular consumption of Fanta, Coca-Cola, mountain dew, 7up, Pepsi, Mirinda, etc can lead to higher blood pressure, heart disease, diabetes and obesity. 


It will be difficult to eradicate soft drinks from our  diet and stay with no drinks at all. Something needs to replace them. Let's opt for healthier options for our sweet drink cravings like iced tea, diluted fruit juice and flavored milk... I have eradicated soft drinks from my diet, it wasn't easy but it's certainly worth it. You also should choose health today! 

Sort:  

Great article! Very informative.

I agree with you, nice work zaddy

I can't its impossible!

Thanks for the info! I totally agree, I've been trying to make the change myself

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59428.91
ETH 2657.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50