CHINESE & FILIPINO TREATS FOR US TO ENJOY... TIME TO DROOL AWAY! :D

in #food7 years ago (edited)

111.png

MIDWEEK MENU - TASTY TREATS

I love food, no doubt about it. I could make my steemit account exclusively for food blogging, but there are many topics to write about. Again i repeat, i looooove food. :D
The first delicacy seems to be a pastry with some sweet bean filling. It was given to us by our Chinese partners but i didn't had the chance to ask them what is the meaning of the Chinese letters on it. So to my fellow Steemians from China, care to enlighten us what does the symbols/letters mean? :)

IMG_20170912_155336.jpg

I would also want to inquire about this small dried berries in an exquisite porcelain container that they gave us. They seem to be like peppercorns. I ate a few of them because a colleague of mine said it was okay to eat per se. To my surprise, they tasted like a tinier version of raisins. I'm still curious what they are.... @u@

IMG_20170911_160216.jpg

SCRUMPTIOUS SNACKS

These yummy snacks came from our province in Kalibo, Aklan. They are the staple delicacies Filipinos love to bring back home after a vacation. The one on top is called OTAP, a puff pastry drizzled with sugar. The 2 in the middle are a variety of tarts, a caramel & a mango tart. The one on the bottom is a butterscotch.
For sure i had a sweet afternoon that time. ^u^
IMG_20170911_160251_HDR.jpg
(Time to share the blessings!)

IMG_20170912_085344.jpg

This one is called UGOY-UGOY a twisted pastry with some cinnamon on it. And this is the first time i have ever tried one. I love the crunch & the sugary savory taste of it. Add in the woody, aromatic smell and indeed it's a winner. :)


IMG_20170913_134450.jpg

THIS ONE (WELL 3-IN-1) IS A LEGEND.

When you say Filipino tidbits, these 3 are the most renowned desserts of all time.
On the left part is PUTO, a Filipino Steamed Cake topped with cheese on it.
On the middle is SAPIN-SAPIN, a layered glutinous rice dessert. Look at those colors!!!
On the right part is KUTSINTA, a brown rice cake with coconut shavings on it.
Eat them together or 1 by 1, it's your choice.
Rest assured you will be satisfied on each bite. ;)


Giphy

Keep on Eating!
(๑>◡<๑)
DQmRAKe6Vv3A3YTudxEiwaLetMASGAxi3DtASYnTU2LG8XW.gif

DQmb2XLRnqy5netJri1pMXwqxB22MxujE4XakYcHeVUpQqx.gif

Sort:  

This looks so tasty @yukinmaru. 😍I hope it tastes as good as it looks!

Definitely tastes great! Especially for a sweet tooth like me. :D

Yum yum! Share some :)

Do message me if you'll ever drop by here in Makati so i can prepare you some sweet treats. ^u^

Absolutely! I will hold you to that :P

The first picture looks like mooncake, something the Chinese eat during a Full Moon festival or the New Year. I studied in a Chinese school and every full moon festival or Chinese New Year my classmates-mostly Chinese won't share their mooncake with me & other non-Chinese classmates.

After I started working I always make sure to buy a platter of mooncakes during Chinese New Year and gorge on them as middle finger for all those times I never got to taste mooncake from selfish & racist classmates. >:D

BTW, the second symbol in the cake is "You". Maybe it says "blessings to you" , my Chinese is a bit rusty. :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94