Foodie blog #3: Yummy Spaghetti w/ Turkey Meatballs!! No Pasta??? (How to)

in #food7 years ago

  Hello Steemians! Happy Hump Day!! How are you? 

I am a pasta addict and I have not cooked pasta for 2 months!! Oh how I miss eating pasta!!! So today, I wanted to make the usual spaghetti with meatballs for dinner but I wanted to change it up a bit by using a vegetable (or fruit as there seems to be some confusion on the internet) called Spaghetti Squash instead. I love my pasta dishes and the first time I made spaghetti squash, I've got to say that I fell in love with it. This dish will surely change your life! It's definitely a great substitute for pasta, low in calories and also very healthy! I know what I’m having for dinner, do you?

So let’s get started shall we? How to pick the right Spaghetti squash? Do you smell it? No, it doesn’t have any odor like how you can tell from smelling a cantaloupe if it is ripe or not. Of course, if the squash smells bad, then it is rotting so do not pick that one! I look for squash that is golden-yellow and heavy with no bumps or soft spots. It looks like a honeydew melon so be sure you check the label to make sure you grab the right one.

 

  $1.97 CAD!! Wow, what a deal!!! Actually I don't know if that is a deal but I just felt like saying that :P   

RECIPE for cooking the Spaghetti Squash: (this serving is for 4 people) 

2 Spaghetti Squash  

Salt/Black pepper    

So start off by pre-heating the oven to 375-degree Fahrenheit. Wash the spaghetti squash. Cut the squash in half, horizontal, like the picture below. Remove the seeds, season with salt and pepper for taste and then place it in a baking dish open side down, filled with 2-3 cups of water. Spaghetti squash will cook for 30-45 minutes or until tender.  

 Remove the dish from the oven and let it sit for 10-15 minutes. Then using a fork, scrape out the squash to create noodles.  

  It was still burning hot when I tried to scrape it out so make sure you be careful.  Continue to scrape until empty and place it in a bowl.

  It looks just like spaghetti strands when cooked!! Amazing!! The portion is A LOT too!  

RECIPE for the sauce & meatballs:  

Breadcrumbs 

Ground meat (Turkey) 

Spices - salt, pepper, garlic powder, white pepper powder, paprika

1 Egg 

Cilantro 

2 Bottles of your favorite pasta sauces

1 Red Pepper

For the meatballs, you can use any ground meat. I like to use ground turkey. Add your spices – salt, pepper, garlic powder, white pepper powder, paprika, cilantro and mix it all together.  Add 1 egg.  The egg makes it moist and tender. Using your hand, roll the meat into a meatball, then dip it into the breadcrumbs. I like to roast my meatballs so place it in a baking dish and bake for 25-30 minutes (375-degree Fahrenheit).

 Next you can put the 2 bottles of Spaghetti sauce in a pan on low heat.  I like to mix my sauces as it gives it a different flavour.  These are the 2 Sauces I used, but you can use your favorite sauce from your local grocery store.  

 Once the meatballs are cooked, add the meatballs.    Add your veggies – I like red bell peppers - and let the sauce simmer for 20-25 minutes under medium heat.      

Voila! You are ready to serve and eat!  

Honestly, I love my carbs but I must say that this dish is P-R-E-T-T-Y AWESOME!!  

The spaghetti squash is tender and has a nice texture to it and it tastes like pasta! It’s delicious, satisfying, low-calorie meal. My new favorite food. If you are looking for a pasta alternative, then give this a try. Have you ever tried spaghetti squash? If so, please share it with me!!

Bon appetit! Happy Eating!!  Thank you for reading and I hope you enjoyed this post. PLEASE UPVOTE, RESTEEM AND FOLLOW ME @xredsoulless !!!

*All photos in this post are from my own camera or from my Samsung S7* 


Sort:  

Great post @xredsoulless! The kind of food I like! Just love spiralized veggies and spaghetti squashes... so much better than pasta!

Oh the squash was the noodles. very interesting dish.

I thought so also the first time! :)

Congratulations @xredsoulless! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you very much :)

Thanks you should try it!!

Yup sureee :P

Looks good Steem sqaush hehe.

Thanks Natevegas! You should try it sometime. :)

Love it! I look forward to seeing more of your recipes! Followed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60625.81
ETH 2406.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61