Siomai-love for you :D

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I’ve pictured my dream house a thousand times. And the rooms I have spent most of the times imagining in my head are the library,my bedroom and the kitchen. The rooms I would most feel at home and at peace.

I have never imagined in my childhood days that I would inherit my family’s love for cooking. We have come from a long line of Ilocanos, that aside from the Kapampangans, are known for being good cooks (In my own honest opinion). There is always something comforting about home-cooked meals. Made from scratch and no recipes to follow but your instinct (that is why I would not be good at baking,where everything is measured). I don’t remember when I first learned to cook. All I remember is being a child and then next thing I know is you can almost always find me in the kitchen when I’m not in my room.

I have learned that you can’t cook when you’re angry or with a heavy heart. It would greatly affect the taste of the dish. So I’ve always cooked with music. It drives away ill feelings I have. And it helps me concentrate more on what I should do first to bring out the flavor of the dish. As a Filipino, who absolutely loves to eat, I of course have that one specific food that brings comfort to me whenever I am feeling under the weather.

15141378-F0D5-44CD-9A63-FA0FE598BDA9.jpeg
My first attempt at a homemade siomai.

Siomai! You can almost always buy it anywhere. Perfect whenever you crave for it because you can even find vendors right outside your home. I prefer homemade siomai because it tastes a little better and reminds me of how my tita used to make them. It’s usually a rare treat for us when we were kids, she’ll make them whenever we get in the top 10 at school.

Here’s how I make them :
Ingredients
1kg ground pork
1/2 kg shrimp peeled and ground
1 small carrot minced
1 red onion minced
Salt,pepper and garlic powder to taste
3 tablespoon soysauce
2 tablespoon sesame oil
3 eggs
1 pack of molo wrapper
For the sauce :
Kikoman light soysauce
Calamansi
And chili oil (if you have em)
(Disclaimer : I am not really sure how this is done, it’s just how I saw it from my aunt so it’s not the authentic siomai recipe 😁)

Just mix them in all a big bowl,massage it real good to distribute the seasonings evenly. Then when you’re satisfied, scoop out a considerable amount and put it in a molo wrapper. When everything is done, put it in a steamer. I usually leave them to steam at about 30 minutes. Remember to brush a little oil in the steamer so the wrapper would not stick and be ruined when you transfer them.

There ya go folks. Just writing about it makes my mouth water. There’s nothing special about the recipe but it’s enough to satisfy those cravings.

“No one who cooks, cooks alone. Even at her most solitary, a cook in the kitchen is surrounded by generations of cooks past, the advice and menus of cooks present, the wisdom of cookbook writers.”

-Laurie Colwin

As always,steem on!

Please FOLLOW|RESTEEM|UPVOTE
I appreciate good criticisms on my works :)

Have you voted your witness?
Consider casting your witness votes for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @acidyo, @jerrybanfield, @blocktrades, @cloh76.witness, @resteemble, @ausbitbank, @sircork @enginewitty and @curie who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.

To cast your votes, just go to
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

Babe i hate you! Craving for siomai NOW!!! Hahaha

Now you can make some 😂

in your dreams.. hahaha

I can eat everyday homemade

I sure do too ☺️

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen for the SteemPH UAE : Daily Featured Posts | 08 May 2018.

wow looks so tasty.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51