That one time I ate some KangaroosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I would like to think of myself as an adventurous eater, so when in Rome Australia why not feast on one of their iconic animal.

Moist and delicious, Kangaroo Loin Fillet.

image
Photo taken with my iPhone 6

Sort:  

I tried some at Chefs school in Copenhagen along with ostrich, bison and crocodile some 20 years ago ... much like venison i guess!

Yes, I would say its like venison and or beef.

wow how was it like? Similar to beef ?

Yes, tasted life beef. Certainly not like alligator, which taste like chicken. ;)

I tried Crocodile in Thailand, also like chicken

There are a couple of restaurants I know of that serve Kangaroo in Texas. It's fantastic!! I always remember how dark red the meat was. MMMMM!

Oh really? I lived in Texas for a little over 12 years, I wasn't aware of that could have had Kangaroo as this time. I did have alligator once and that was yummy.

Kangaroo is good but should only be served rare. It is a very lean meat.

This was medium rare, and quite delicious. I was expecting it to be gamey, (which I don't like) and thankfully it was quite the opposite.

Yeah it does have a unique smell though which I do find a little off putting. But still eat it a bit as I am a aussie.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47