My Experience with Fasting During Krishna Janmashtami

in #food9 months ago

Hello, As some of you might know, Krishna Janmashtami is an auspicious Hindu festival that marks the birth of Lord Krishna. This festival, happening on September 6th and 7th this year (2023), is not just a visual spectacle but also a deeply spiritual experience, especially for those who fast. I took the plunge last year and wanted to share my transformative journey with you all.

Why I Chose to Fast on Janmashtami
Spiritual Aspirations
Since childhood, I have been fascinated by the concept of fasting, but it took me years to understand its spiritual implications. Fasting on Janmashtami is believed to cleanse the soul, preparing it to receive divine blessings. This idea resonated deeply with me, and I decided to give it a try.

A Challenge to My Willpower
Let's face it: Fasting is tough! But Hindu philosophy teaches that willpower and discipline are the cornerstones of spiritual growth. I took this as a personal challenge, to see if I could discipline my body and mind.

Practical Tips for Fasting: My Dos and Don'ts
Do's
Stay Hydrated: I opted to consume fluids during my fast. I mainly drank herbal teas and coconut water, which helped keep dehydration at bay.

Eat Sattvic Foods: When I broke my fast, I made sure to eat simple and pure foods—fruits, dairy, and a light meal.

Mental Engagement: I read scriptures, listened to devotional songs, and participated in community prayers to keep my spirit high.

Don'ts
Avoid Heavy Foods: Tamasic foods, which include meat, alcohol, and spicy foods, can disrupt your spiritual focus.

Stay Positive: Negative thoughts or feelings can dampen your spiritual journey. Stay positive and let the spiritual energy flow.

Don’t Overdo It: I took care to not overexert myself physically. I stuck to light yoga and avoided strenuous activities.

Breaking The Fast: My Personal Choices
Fruit Salad: I broke my fast with a fruit salad composed of my favorite fruits—bananas, apples, and pomegranate.

Dairy: A cup of homemade yogurt added a soothing touch, perfectly in line with Lord Krishna's love for dairy.

Sabudana Khichdi: This sago-based dish is light on the stomach and incredibly satisfying. Plus, it’s pretty delicious!

Final Thoughts
My experience with fasting on Krishna Janmashtami was nothing short of transformative. The discipline, the spiritual focus, and the heightened sense of awareness made it a memorable experience. If you’re spiritually inclined or just curious, I strongly recommend giving it a try. It's more than a fast; it’s a journey towards self-discovery.

Hope you enjoyed reading my post. Would love to hear your thoughts or experiences with fasting during any spiritual festivals!

That should give you a good starting point for your Steemit article. Feel free to modify it to suit your style and experiences!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67617.45
ETH 3777.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69