Korean Food #3 - Spicy Chicken Stew

in #food8 years ago (edited)

What's up Steemians!

I am posting Korean food series, hope you enjoy it. I believe some of Korean food I am posting can be your new favourite.
Today's menu is Korean-style spicy chicken stew. Pieces of chicken, spicy sauce and veggie are nicely mixed into chunky stew.
Remember I said Korean people love spicy food? This is one of them. The chef is my mother in law. She is fast enough to cook 3 different food at the same time. - Spicy Chicken Stew - Stir-Fried Squid - Fermented Soybean Paste Soup. Today I will show you the first of 3. *The spicy chicken stew
Let's take a look at how it looks after its completion.

Does it look yummy enough for you? Now I'll tell you how to cook.

Prepare pieces of chicken

Cut potato, carrot, onion to bite size. Please don't chop too tiny but bite size. Keep chilli for the last step.

Sauce: Minced garlic 1T, Korean Chilli Paste 2T, Korean Chilli Power 1T, Corn syrup 2T, Soy Sauce 3T

Mix well to make it look like this.

Soak chicken in the sauce.

Add half cup water, don't put too much, it should become chunky stew. Chicken and veggie will generate liquid as well.

It will be like this.

Cover on, boil it for 5 minutes.

Prepare sliced chilli.

After 5 minutes, stir & mix well.

Boil another 5 minutes, and then put chilli in.

Reduce fire, boil another 10 minutes. Now it's finished.

How to know if it's cooked: Using a chopstick, penetrate potato. If it's smooth to the core, it's done (Korean way of wisdom)

Taste it. Too creamy? boil more. A bit salty would be okay, it's great with rice.
That's it. Next posting will be my mother in law's Stir fried squid. Stay tuned.
See you next time.

Sort:  

Yummy, I live in Korea also and I love the food here.

No... It is not possible to read (and to observe!!!) such posts from the early morning. The fridge is in great danger and some extra kilos are running rapidly to join the main stuff)))

I live in Korea. This is just beginning of my Korean Food series. It's just good fill the fridge in advance

That's OK, thank you for sharing)

Oh, wow! That looks so tasty! Did you source your ingredients from local farms?

All the ingredients including chicken, veggies are picked from local supermarket. Easiest for me to prepare :-)

lookin GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD

Looks beautiful and your camera captures all the great bright colours!!! Thanks for sharing, I'm a baby dolphin food blogger here! Great post :) Alla x

That looks delicious!

Thanks. I hope you have chances to taste Korean food

닭도리탕 !

오!! 닭볶음탕 맛있어보이네요^^

люблю все остренкое

능력자셨구나..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61536.69
ETH 3445.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50